December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kittenzilla 3: The Return of Mecha-Kittenzilla

by quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It looks like the cat...
*sunglasses*
...is out of the bag.
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeah!

Made before a livestream audience with Unity 3d, Blender, Photoshop, and Audacity.

Controls, Sound, Graphics, and Physics can be modified from the options menu by hitting [ESC].

HINT: If you're having trouble dodging the missiles, try jumping over them!!

---

If you would like to contact me, you can reach me at one of these places:

quill18@quill18.com
http://twitter.com/quill18
http://youtube.com/quill18 (Video game commentaries.)
http://youtube.com/quill18creates (Game programming tutorials.)


Down with goats. Kittens for life!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#32Humor3.76
#40Fun3.71
#90Audio3.34
#111Overall3.51
#251Theme3.46
#313Graphics3.06
#350Mood2.79
#437Innovation2.69

Comments

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Saw the last few hours of the livestream leading up to this, after i finished my own entry, and i freaking loved it. The sound effects are awesome! :D

Zbot says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:44pm

This game is absolutely incredible, love it, watched every moment of its creation on the live stream. Deserves to win, a joy to play.

GameGuyG says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Quill you did an amazing job on this game. I watched everything on the livestream and it was both fun and interesting. Hope you win!

aKiss4Luck says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34am

I can't believe you did so much in such a short(end) amount of time. Quill,the game is fun! Letting us watch the entire process, live, is unbelievable.

This one's a winner!

nick says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

do you have to download this or what

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

Nice job on the game Quill. It was a joy to watch you make the game and a joy to play it too :D

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23am

This game is, more than anything else, incredibly fun because PEW PEW SMASH SMASH KABOOM.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:51pm

You cannot go wrong with kittens and lazor eyes!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Quite fun !

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11pm

It really made me fe feel like a Mecha-kittenzilla. I Especially like the insane jump height and the fact that the tanks parachute in. Nice job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Ah man. This is freaking awesome. Not only am I a sucker for sound effects made with your mouth and cats, but the phsyics in this was so fun. The way the buildings fell down was awesome, the noise missiles make when they run out of fuel is glorious and once I found out you could jump I was loving it.

Literally the only complaint I can leverage is that the lasers have such a pitiful range. Otherwise I love it.

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Meeeow! Good stuff.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Haha! Lol

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Brilliant destruction, very satisfying. Lasers a bit limited range, no feedback on hitting tanks, and really hard to dodge missiles. But still great fun to play :)

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42am

Oh yes, I did enjoy this.
The sound effects are wonderful - bet you had a blast making them.
This, super polished, would be an amazing amount of fun to play.

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23am

Pew! Pew! Pew! Funny game!

galman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:18pm

LOL this was a funny game :P Great sounds effects.

TheMelon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:23pm

I love this game. Simple and so much fun. The sound effects are what really makes it shine. Reminded me of Rampage, but way funnier.

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:55pm

This is crazy! but fun.
Evil cat lol.

CMaster says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Miaow Miaow

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:33pm

the "got a pill" meow was great :-D fun game overall.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Lovely! Like the destruction and the low-fi city. Could do with some kickass music :D

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Bit chaotic but nice, well done.

caranha says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Heh, interesting game, but the controls are a bit bad. Mouse sensitivity is over the roof, so I had some hard time controlling it.

Since the kitten is a mecha, some sort of map HUD, showing position of the tanks, would be welcome.

I really liked the physics of destroyed buildings.

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:06pm

get in touch with these guys: http://www.behance.net/gallery/CATZILLA/5796185?utm_source=Triggermail&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Net%20Project%20Published

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Maybe could've done with another couple of things to do, but nice work overall :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:21am

Good job favouring kittens and hating Michael Bay. Concept works well and collapsing buildings are good. If I could shoot burst shots my finger would be less sore.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]