About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 21 hours, 47 minutes, 32 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 21 hours, 59 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 22 hours, 47 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Blight on Happy Land - Tifu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    [NOTE] Please judge the non-bug fixed version, the bug fix version was made outside of the 48 hours and exists just so people can play the thing if they encounter the game breaking 'tiles falling too fast' bug and still want to play. Thanks!


    Blight on Happy Land is a simple little platformer game, you play the role of a mean little imp who is going to destroy Happy Land. He does this by walking over the grassy tiles and destroying them. Destroy all the tiles without falling off into the void to win each level!

    Controls: WASD to move, Space to jump!

    There's no real sound, and no real ending (other than some congratulations text if you stand in front of the level trophies) but you can play through six levels, and your progress should save between play sessions.

    This has been pretty good Unity and Blender practice :D


    *EDIT*
    Regarding comments of the game's difficulty, apparently the tiles fall at different speeds on different spec computers! I didn't make use of the Time.deltaTime function which is what I get for using a program I am unfamiliar with to do a Ludum Dare :D

    This video - www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wlc0TrsgMVs - shows how it runs on my computer, as you can see, you are supposed to be able to just walk straight across a row of grassy tiles without falling. So... yeah... that sucks. But at least I learned something =F



    *edit*
    Uploaded hopefully fixed versions for those who want to play the game properly, obviously just judge the broken version :P

    View Tifu's journal. | View all entries by Tifu

    Ratings

    #203Graphics3.39
    #316Innovation2.97
    #326Mood2.85
    #340Overall3.03
    #342Humor2.60
    #346Fun2.88
    #403Theme3.13
    #570Audio1.43
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Nice game! Very strange camera angle though.

    lucasncv says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    Not as easy as I thought! :) The camera is indeed a bit strange.

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    Very, VERY difficult. By the way, it runs fine in WINE too :)

    ahmedcab says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    nice graphics but too HARD!!!

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    Too hard? I didn't expect that at all, I wonder if something is wrong somewhere... are the tiles just falling way too fast? There is supposed to be plenty time to get off them...

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    I destroyed Happyland. It took a couple of goes, but it was a good experience. Perhaps some sound would've been nice...

    jayhC says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Really like this game.. Like the others say the camara angle is weird and doesnt intuitivly match the controls. but once you get used to it, its fun to play. and nice graphics

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Controls felt very unintuitive, my only complaint. Game was pretty fun otherwise.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    Noooo! You monster! You used the control scheme where "up" is top left rather than top right!

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    As some people are experiencing the game at different speeds due to my uh... lack of knowledge about Unity... I have uploaded a fixed version that should run at the correct speed regardless of your comp. Obviously just judge the unfixed version as the fix was done outwith the time limit.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    I cant play, i have a FR keyboard (azerty). Need a config for this problematic wen you code a game for many countries. Not all have querty keybards.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    The angle took a while to get to, but afterwards, this was quite an enjoyable experience. And I like the decorative animals!

    There were a few bugs that kept me from finishing the game (because I got to frustrated):
    - At stair passages: Sometimes blocks I touched didn't fall. Maybe I jumped over them?
    - The jump-again-if-you-still-hold-the-key killed me more than one time, and I don't see anywhere in the game where you would WANT to jump again :(

    Other than that, I quite like it!

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    the camera doesn't help much, but was very fun and a very nice idea!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Liked the graphics and found it quite innovative. Well done.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    I like the concept! It would be nice if you could go diagonally and the camera turned with the character though.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Fun game and looks good. The idea works. Good job!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:18pm

    Nice, it took some trying but I managed to destroy Happy Land! Wish there had been even some congratulation screen or something as a reward for the effort though, because the game is really difficult because of the little off collision detection, camera angle and controls.

    Mago says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    Interesting game concept it combines platformer with a simple puzzle game. Camera angle make it sometimes hard to control. Nonetheless very good entry I realy liked and I played it longer than most of games.

    arhpositive says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:16am

    Nice idea and good implementation. I tried the bug-fix version, as I think a little bug-fix does not interfere with the way I judge games. The controls were a bit hard to get used to, but the game itself was really addictive as I tried all of the worlds a couple of times and succeeded in more than half of them. Good entry!

    chrismwaite says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:05pm

    I like the concept but found it quite difficult. Its very easy to miss tiles and get into a fail state that you can't get back out of. I'm not sure the floor tiles need to fall away, or perhaps they should fall after a longer period of time (to give you chance to backtrack)

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    An excellent game! all what it misses is sound and a story :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]