December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lootology : Experiment #001

by Lythom - Jam Entry

Come to experiment a new Loot system based on your actions only. Discover how to unlock powerfull weapons that no one succeeded to create before, and smash an army of... You!

Help in the bottom right corner in the game screens, or see screenshot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Fun(Jam)3.40
#76Innovation(Jam)3.33
#159Mood(Jam)2.83
#197Overall(Jam)2.87
#242Audio(Jam)1.93
#276Graphics(Jam)2.40
#309Theme(Jam)2.07
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

allinlabs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36pm

The light saber mechanic is really fun, I had some amazing epic battles. Very challenging.
I didn't understand what's up with the "loot system based on my actions" though. And I'm sure how the game's related to the theme.

Lythom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

"loot system based actions" seems to be very missunderstood :s In exemple, in the first run, you get bonus damage proportionnal to the Overkill. It means if you kill a "You" that have 2HP left with 10 damage point, you have 8 damage point of overkill that will be converted in a +4 bonus points (ratio is 0.5). A good strategy is to have a low damaging weapon to weaken enemies, then strike them strong with a high damage sword to deal a high overkill and get a better bonus.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:29pm

interesting,
the gravity is really strange however...

Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:01am

Didn't see any loot -- but seems like a good idea.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:05am

I really like the light saber mechanic!

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Very nice concept! Got 3 as highest run :) Didn't really find out how to drops are influenced by my actions, but sometimes I found better weapons -> :)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Cool game! Liked the lightsaber mechanic. Didn't understand if I was fighting old versions of myself or what?

joekinley says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:53pm

What an awesome mechanic with the swords and all. And damn, I could have gotten this 28 damage awesome saber but that dude killed me right before i had the chance to hit my last blow.... man...
Really great work it was a ton of fun playing this one. Very innovative and moody. Could have had better level design, as in more interesting and all, but hey, it was really fun to play.
Awesome job with this game. Hope you finish that one, could become a real hit on FGL.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]