December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Doggie Destroyer

by davidwparker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BACKSTORY:
You are the most villainous dog ever. And all you want to do is pee on stuff.
Do it!

GAMEPLAY:
Click and hold your mouse where you want the dog to go to. Once close to fire hydrant, he'll pee on it. Score a bunch of points by not getting wet from the hydrant while you are peeing.

ABOUT:
This is an HTML5 game I made with Cocos2d-HTML5. It's the first time I used the platform. Other tools used: Audacity, Inkscape, CocosBuilder.

Tested on OSX 10.6.8, 10.8.2; Firefox 17.1, Chrome 23.0.1271.97

BUGS/THINGS I WANTED TO DO/ETC:
* Sound seems to only work in Chrome.
* A little bit laggy (especially due to sound effect- see no sound version below).
* Collision detection is a little off.
* Dog can also remain 100% on the hydrant (collision detection doesn't stop you from moving).
* The dog only pees in one direction.
* The hydrants continuously spin, but you get hurt regardless if the water is facing you or not when you pee.
* No end game condition (you can have negative health).
* No way to mute sound effects / only 1 sound effect.
* No music.
* Only fire hydrants (no other entities to pee on).

OVERALL:
* I liked it a lot. If you read any of my blog posts, you'll see I had a major meltdown. In fact, on the first day, the only thing I had done was the different sprites in Inkscape. Everything I had to start from scratch... so I'm pretty pleased where I ended up, all things considered.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#272Humor2.81
#508Innovation2.55
#553Audio1.57
#642Theme2.47
#673Mood2.10
#682Graphics2.06
#752Overall2.00
#756Fun1.67

Comments

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Certainly some things left to do before it's finished, but might turn in to an interesting twitch game.

PerilousPete says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30am

Original idea, could have used a bit more development but I like where it's going.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

The sound is so funny, lol.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

funny concept! i found that your health is depleted whenever you are relatively close to the fire hydrants, not just touching them.

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23am

Playing as a villainous dog is a neat concept. Fire hydrants hurting you regardless of their direction sort of kills the game for me.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:41am

A noble effort, with some more time this could have been quite a fun game to play on my iPad

Per says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:02am

That sound effect is really something :)

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:37am

Nice game!

Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Could still use a lot of work. I was expecting to die when my score hit zero, but instead it just went into the negative. You also don't seem to get damaged by getting hit with water, but rather, you get damaged by being within radius of a hydrant with water coming out of it...

Jeremias says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Just continue on it and make a post-compo version :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:33pm

I think the dog looks like a fish :).

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:44am

Very original idea. Still a lot of work to do on it though.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Hey congrats for having taken it to the end! Original idea for a game, I liked it.

A suggestion: you could make goals for different levels. To try and reach a certain amount of soak time per level. It might be more engaging this way then a "see how far you can get". I think it's usually like this with games that don't have instant death (Example: Super Hexagon has instant death and because of that it's more rewarding to try and last longer.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]