December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Villain is YOU!

by NAMKCOR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game also runs in Wine on Linux, Just download the Windows package and wrap it.

A Villain is YOU! is a reverse-tower defense, pitting you and your minions against the holy empire. You must destroy the Holy Capital before the Hero of Prophecy is born, and inevitably buries you!

Corrupt the world with your endless supply of EVIL POWER and turn powerful spells against your foe.

The light has existed for far too long, and it's time the Vile Citadel had its day!

----------------------------------------------------------

Please read the instructions, as due to time constraints there is no tutorial in game.

INSTRUCTIONS ARE AVAILABLE ON THIS PAGE BELOW THE SWF
http://laguz.us/games-archive/villain-you

----------------------------------------------------------

I HIGHLY suggest downloading either the Windows or OSX desktop versions as there can be performance issues with the SWF.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Overall3.45
#128Theme3.75
#129Audio3.16
#199Innovation3.22
#200Mood3.11
#200Fun3.19
#225Graphics3.31
#541Humor2.04
#1102Coolness17%

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00am

I like it. Nice presentation (music, graphics, sound effects are all good), good take on the reversed TD genre with some unique additions. The random nature of the game adds some replay value, but for me it also lead to very easy situations when only one tower could hurt my minions.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

Really liked the idea of the reverse tower defense. The music is very nice, and fits well with the game. The gameplay is pretty good, sometimes though the level, due to random generation, can be very easy.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

Atmospheric game with interesting mechanics.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

That was really cool. Good Job!

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

Nice game

epiplon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

That was close, but I wined! And YES, the Hero is invulnerable, as always! Destroying it's folks is the true way of winning.
I must point out that you put some strategy elements to the game and just let it to the player to figure it out the best way! This makes the game challenging and that's why this is a really good game.

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10am

I really liked this one. The slow pace was good to think really well how to advance and which would be the best path. Also the moment the hero attacks i nice, tensions arises for who is going to kill each other first. Liked the music too :D

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32am

Nice :)

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Enjoyable and quite captivating. I did find it a little confusing but overall a good job.

Cabral says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04pm

It was fun and solid. What it's really lacking is in-game instructions. I also thought it was a bit easy, even on the Hard difficulty, but I noticed the towers didn't always fire, so maybe there's was some sort of bug?

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08pm

This is a great game and one of the strategy games that i dont totally suck at

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Awesome entry ;) You should maybe adjust the font though..

rubna says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

This game is really fun! Nice idea and the execution is perfect!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Not sure I understood how to play.. Towers weren't firing so the hero just pranced over and destroyed my capital.

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:47am

That was very well done! It captivated me!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:34pm

nice and well done!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Pretty good - I like the idea of a reverse tower defense game. Needs a bit of balancing though (e.g. currently you can just path past all the defenses and spawn right next to the enemy base).

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:11pm

The idea of the opposite of tower defense is neat. A bit more in that direction and you could have a killer strategy game. ::)

Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:59am

Great use of the corruption of the trope about the corruption of the land as a game mechanic. Reminds me of the storyline of the old Final Fantasy where the earth was dying from the influence of the Lich.

I don't know if this was just me but sometimes I found that I could not place graveyards where I thought I should have been able to. Caverns seemed fine.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]