Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Double DeConstruction - Goodlookinguy - Jam Entry

== Summary ==

A short little top-down shooter about some disgruntled construction workers, named Bobcat Jones and Matthew Steel, who decide to take their frustration out on the public, but the public fights back. While technically being a top-down shooter, at some points during gameplay it may feel like a shoot'em up game.


== Thoughts On Entry ==

This is the first LD game fully completed by our team, out of four jams, and we're all extremely happy. So please enjoy what we enjoyed making!


== Side Note ==

On a side note, on a scale of easy to hard, this is ranked near Nintendo hard to beat...sometimes. The thing is, the points you get from each enemy is typically different as well as what types of enemies spawn. For the long range character, standing back and firing from the top works as a sort-of way to cheat the system, although, sooner-than-later, an enemy will force you to have to change your pattern for a bit.


== Bugs ==

The bug that could crash the game was found and fixed, so enjoy!


== IGNORE ==

NOTE: There's a hard to track-down bug that I'm trying to find that can crash the game if you travel along the very bottom of the screen. I am fully aware of it and trying to fix it.

UPDATE TO NOTE: I managed to stop the crash, but, instead the character just disappears and you can't continue and have to refresh. I think I know the general area where the problem is, but I'm super tired, so I'm going to try and fix it in the morning.

View Goodlookinguy's journal. | View all entries by Goodlookinguy

Ratings

Coolness100%
#163Graphics(Jam)3.23
#165Fun(Jam)2.83
#169Audio(Jam)2.74
#176Overall(Jam)2.96
#198Humor(Jam)2.35
#221Mood(Jam)2.61
#295Innovation(Jam)2.08
#297Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44am

Seems like the most complete game I've played so far, but it suffers from the false difficulty of just too much stuff flying at you, and I end up just circling the main blob of enemies and occasionally throwing something at them. Still, awesome job.

bugninja says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46am

Nicely done. There is a lot going on. I think it needs to progress much slower, but I agree that it feels very complete, and fun.

michax says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49am

Lots of stuff flying around. A little too much at times :) In the end didn't manage to finish it. Could be better if my guy had more damage.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39am

Nice averall job, pretty complete game i must say.
Only real downside is the difficulty ;)
I also blocked the game twice ^^

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:45pm

Really difficult, aiming is a bit tricky too. Nicy graphics though

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Funny game with nice graphics, its difficult but addictive too!

zazery says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Nice graphics. I think the theme would've come through more if it was easier since villains need to think they are winning.

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Fun game! whoever had the idea of a button to lock the character angle made an awesome job, it helps a lot! But when there are a lot of people throwing things on your face (which starts happening really fast, and keeps forever) the audio gets really boring..

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

You are entitled to your opinion. Honestly, to me, they seem like they will prevail no matter how many people try to stop them.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

The difficulty felt really against me, too many things flying around + people + spawn rate + the knock-back from the a hit combined to make the game extraordinarily difficult.

Very pretty game though, but I sure did fail a lot!

fhoenig says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

+ for the retro style

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:46am

The sound became pretty hellish when there were >10 dudes on the screen.
Nice variety of hurled projectiles.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:41am

Too difficult to enjoy or really play. Needs balancing. Art, music and presentation were fine.

eraldo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:43am

I was pushed off screen and could not go back.

Goodlookinguy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04am

@zazery Well, when you're taking out several guys all at once, I'd call that feeling like you're winning.

@brantkings I put in the sounds last, so the their volume and other things about them weren't quite as I wanted them, but I was just happy to see the game completed.

@GeorgeBroussard For most people it is balanced. It takes a bit to get used to it, but once you do you can score 35,000 on each player on average.

@eraldo That's the bug I'm working on fixing. You weren't pushed off screen, but you definitely became invisible.

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:01am

Nice retro style game, I think I was just bullied by those angry people. lol

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:10am

Well done. I did not find it too hard really, just hard enough to make me want to keep playing for a bit. Well done

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Interesting bullet hell!

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Really dig the music, left it on the start screen for a bit. fun gameplay, like the sprites!

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:23am

Projectile overload!!!
It was quite fun actaully :)
But I think it was a bit to difficult.

wlad says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:41am

Yeah, I managed to receive the amulet of Xonthor! But I think with Bobcat this is nearly impossible, because I failed twice trying it. Matthew is the man. The music/sound and the grafics were nice. Somehow I felt not like a villain, but like a hero-like deconstruction worker who is attacked by stuff throwing zombies :-)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:57pm

What kind of coworker throws cats, staplers, pizzas and batarangs to people like that ?
Thank you, I had fun playing your game :)

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:22am

Solid entry, though I found the balance between the two characters to be very off. I can only survive for a short few with Bobcat, but I can go on indefinitely with Matthew. Might need a bit of tweaking there (or I'm just awesome with Matthew :D).

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:04am

Great game! It was quite hard but the player had a ton of health.

I recognize that music too, from that python script :)

Goodlookinguy says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:18am

All of the music except the title screen music was from that python script. The title screen music was actually made by hand for the game.

soy_yuma says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:38am

Interesting! Nice graphics with many details (like the Insert Coin for the 2nd player) and good audio :-)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Too much! Build a little difficulty curve!

Otherwise great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]