December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dirty Robbing Hood

by peterfeatherstone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Dirty Robbing Hood and the aim of the game is to steal gold from the villagers homes and stash it back at your den.

The game kind of works how I thought it would but I didn't have enough time to fix a few final issues and my animation skills are pretty poor.

The code is HTML5 canvas using Javascript. The graphics were scribbled on paper and scanned in. I chopped them up using Xara Photo & Graphic Designer 6.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#245Theme3.47
#248Graphics3.24
#347Humor2.59
#466Mood2.61
#468Innovation2.64
#584Fun2.33
#590Overall2.59

Comments

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Great graphic style. Mood and theme intrepratation were good. Gameplay was lacking a bit - I found it impossible to shake of the villagers and they lumped together in an uninteresting manner (so that jumping was hard to utilize). Also I didn't quite grasp the map layout and didn't find my way back to the den :(

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51am

Pretty unique graphical style. I liked it. The main character could have been more clearly outlined maybe. He sort of blended into the background. Jumping was a bit hard mechanically.

diggersworld says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:49pm

I really liked the feeling it gave.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Interesting!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35pm

I like the pencil hand-drawn graphics! The gameplay was pretty fun, but a minimap would definitely have been useful. I was sometimes not sure if whether or not he went up or down, or if the direction you choose matters. Also, the villagers tended to twitch around a lot. Overall though, nice entry!

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Take from the poor and keep for yourself..I mean.. cough cough. Good game

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:09pm

very cool drawing and animation. I liked how you navigated between screens too! Nice job :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58pm

I had trouble finding my way around the map. The graphics and animations are fine. It could've used some sound effects or music.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Cool graphics.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:37pm

I wanted to include a map screen as it is pretty hard to find your way around, but I ran out of time and my data for the streets wasn't in a ideal format to draw as a map. I'd definitely do it differently next time.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:40pm

The paths and streets basically either run north to south, or east to west (the camera always either faces north or east). Moving into a junction swaps the camera between those two directions.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:25pm

I actually like the graphics. I didn't understand how to attack the villagers (can you?) and it was pretty hard to outrun the villagers. I also got lost really quickly and couldn't find my den.

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:17pm

I really like the look of the main character. The graphical style is a great contrast to many other games in LD.

DTG says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:42am

Never found my way back to the den, perhaps a metaphor for a life of crime :) unique art which gave it a nice feel, may need a few more visual cues as to where to go.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:10am

Loved the artwork style!

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:33am

The graphics style was really nice, though the gameplay felt a little lacking in some areas. Perhaps it could be improved upon with a better map layout and more interesting villagers.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:06pm

I like the look and the main idea. One problem though is that it's really hard to find your way back to the den, other then that, great job!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:53am

Love the art theme a lot. There's potential here and I'd keep at it. I couldn't really get rid of people chasing me. Maybe some way to stun them and lose them after a couple of screen transitions? the look of the game is good, so work on polish and game mechanics at this point.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:35am

Wow, that's crazy. I really thought about giving up when I first played bug after going two or three times back to the start screen I got it. It's really well made and I had fun but I really missed a overview map to find back to the den.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:32pm

I like the hand-graphic style. It very funny. :-D

zompi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Graphics are funny and sometimes attacking villagers are ridiculously shaking xD Moving up and down is weird I had some time to used to it this silent... It's sad there is no single sound in the game.
But concept might be interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]