Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Holly Jolly Pyromaniac - UndergroundPixel - Jam Entry

From the makers of the 2011 smash hit, Holiday Havoc, comes another classic Christmas title boasting retro pixel art, catchy chiptune tracks, and shockingly addictive gameplay! Underground Pixel is proud to present... Holly Jolly Pyromaniac!

Some of Santa's elves are planning to revolt... and rather than have a calm and rational conversation with them about it, he'd rather play the role of a villain this year and blow their houses up with explosives! Traitorous elves live in green houses, and loyal elves live in purple ones. Don't take out your own forces! Compete with your friends on the leaderboards! Who will claim the #1 spot for themselves?

This game has it all! Panicking elves, a deranged Santa Claus, and GOATS, and this game can now be all yours for the low, low price of FREE. So play now! Now. Do it now. Are you playing yet? Why not? Stop reading this message. PLAY IT NOW!!!

View UndergroundPixel's journal. | View all entries by UndergroundPixel

Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.70
Audio(Jam)4.18
#37Overall(Jam)3.69
#64Fun(Jam)3.33
#69Humor(Jam)3.21
#75Mood(Jam)3.32
#127Theme(Jam)3.49
#260Innovation(Jam)2.40
#912Coolness35%

Comments

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

Gorgeous looking game with great sound! It would have felt more action-packed to me if it scrolled faster. I also felt like there needed to be more danger/threats to me as the player, and would like to experiment with being able to fly around. The bombing got a little repetitive.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:07am

Holy Moly! The art and music in this is top notch! Great work :D

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:22am

Amazing graphics *____*

Wuhao says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57am

full score for graphics

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:04am

Very pretty. I got 1000 and felt like I could keep playing as the game seemed to max out in speed. Gameplay not quite up to the visuals. Not sure what you can do to make it ramp up forcing an end vs falling into being repetitive. Would be great if there was a wider screen and you could control the x-pos of Santa so you had to speed up and slow down, etc to bomb. Great job for 72 hrs.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

wow, the artwork is super awesome!!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Amazing looking game! :)

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Amazing pixel art graphics, nice music that really fit to the game and very simple yet addictive gameplay (like - yes, I can do better than that, let's do it). Great game UndergroundPixel, very polished :)

Cthu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13am

Amazing pixel art dude!

MaTX says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Marvellous pixel art, and incredibly polished gameplay. Amazing entry.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:21am

Great graphics and music!! Gameplay is a bit repetitive but it works well with this kind of game. I've a lot of fun with it! ;)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:29am

Great execution on the aesthetic, I might have made it a bit faster and added one or two more attacks. I can see this not taking long to jump to a commercial release. Good work!

drewfitz says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:59am

HO HO HOLY CRAP. BEAUTIFUL.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:45am

awesome presentation

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:47am

That's highly rated production to have leaderboard feature! Audio and pixel art are quite impressive.

I did get a low score for the first 2 times then I mostly quit with a thought that there will be no new thing introduced. NO, 1up and faster (clearer to see) got in and that's the way more fun !

Just guess if it's faster in the early stage would add more challenging or not.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13am

Great music, fun game and awesome art. Nice job! Can't wait to see if this grows into a full release :)

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:57am

That's not fair! The game looks too good :) And I loved the music too, although it didn't loop for me so the second part of my gameplay session was musicless. How sad :(

The art reminds me of a SNES-era game, which is really good :) Otherwise, I noticed the game going faster and faster, but it would've been nice to have more variety in the game play, other actions to do (well, this is not Press Space To Win, but still), end of levels with scoreboards, something :)

But anyway: gorgeous art, congratulations. Looking forward to your next entry!

(Also: Is this powered by Haxe?)

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:05am

Definitely a good entry. I think it should get harder a bit quicker, because tho I kept going, at about 500 pts I wanted to stop playing. But after I got to 800ish it really sped up and re-captured my interest.

awppy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:40am

Lots of fun for such a simple game, and it looks and sounds absolutely beautiful. When viewing the leaderboards, the title screen would not refresh properly upon pressing a key (x, escape, enter) and pressing x a few times would display either the credits page or the How To Play screen, drawn overtop the existing leaderboards screen, but it would fix itself after that.

Wasn't sure what was going on during my first play, but I had it figured by my second. Good fun!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51am

Really great graphics and animations, the explosion was the best! The game seems pretty solid but the strong part on this game is the graphics, very pretty.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:45am

Really nice pixel art and music! The gameplay is a bit samey, it could use a little something something, but overally this was done very, very well.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:36am

Very pretty, and sounded great. Could do with a little extra something though (moving the sleigh, maybe?) as it gets a bit repetitive.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:00am

Superb graphics! This would make a nice mobile game. Would you consider porting it to Android/iOS?

RipX says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41am

Amazing artwork and sound. 5★ Made me feel nostalgic for my old Sega Master System (These graphics would be very high end for that machine). Game play is very simple but sometimes the bombs didn't fall, maybe I was pressing to fast?! :) Overall superb.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:42am

Pretty simple, but funny and very well don, especiallly art and music. It could be the answer to http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=14195 ^^

feltip says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Great game! Love the music and sprites :)

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Awesome! The graphics are amazing, and the sound is pretty good! Really good job on this :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:26pm

Great looking game! Wish there was more to do and at first I was confused over which houses to destroy. Once I got into it, the game was fun. Kind of reminded me of paperboy.

deepnight says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:27pm

The art and music are simply amazing :D
However, the game would have been even better with some gameplay variations.
Great entry!

Eelfroth says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Awesome music and graphics. You should port this to C=64!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51pm

Finally got around to it. :P
The graphics to this game are so damn beautiful. Colour contrast between character and landscape are spot on, and the purples and greens to the landscape contrast to the rather dark undertone of the game. :)
Gameplay wise, I feel it could have had more to it. I liked the idea of it speeding up, and therefore becoming more and more hectic; however, I feel there could have been more obstacles, as the elves sort of just... took it on their chin. Would've thought they'd fight back a little. :P
Music was beautiful for a 48 hour game. Really enjoyed listening to that. Props to the musician. :D

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Amazing game! I absolutely love the quality of your pixel art, and although I didn't love the music at first, it really grew on me to the point where I adored it. Game was fun, fairly addicting, and having a leaderboard was nice. :) When I was checking it though, I had issues knowing how to go back. I think I pressed z/x a few times so that some stuff started overlaying on top of each other and the game started again. Not really a big issue, I didn't count it against your rating but I thought you should know! Amazing work!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Impressive art (music and graphics) and fun to play! It became a bit lag in the end.

I was going to add that you could have added more features (movement or attack options), but come on, in 72 hours? That's awesome!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:22pm

+Graphics are awesome!
+Music is AWESOMER!

-Gameplay lacks a little in variety
-You can't back out of menus

Overall, amazing job!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:27pm

To everyone here who loves the graphics, music, and gameplay, I just want to say THANK YOU!! :)

To everyone here who can't figure out how to back out of menus, IT'S THE ESC BUTTON. THE ESC BUTTON. THE ESC BUTTON.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Oh... esc button. Gotcha.

Johan Vinet says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Hey, I'm the guy behind art & animation in this game, I'd like to thank all of you for your kind comments! Congrats for your games!

BNeutral says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Lovely graphics and music, but kind of boring.

Folis says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:55pm

I enjoyed this game for the most part, but it does get repetitive after a while. After you are in tact with the speed it's fun to look at all the details, though!

And the mood is also very christmas-y (Is that a word? I don't think so). Err. Anyways, the mood of the was great too :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:39am

Good looking game. The music is cool, but doesn't quite fit the game, I think. Gameplay is pretty one-dimensional, but it's a well-executed game of its type.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05am

Great game! Double the points for framing it around christmas- that's like two themes in one! I think this do REALLY well as a mobile game on the market! Cash money!

Anyway, AWESOME GAME!

Red Mike says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:07am

Incredible graphics, and very nice audio as well. I like the gameplay as well. Great job!

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:11am

Great art & sounds! Really like it!

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32am

Very simple but also fun. I really like the music and graphics.

talorb says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:58am

Pretty fun for a few minutes. Could have used more gameplay, and the leaderboard navigation was a bit wacky but pretty good for 72 hours. Nice!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:53am

Amazing pixel art.
Gameplay gets pretty boring after a while, but if you added some combo chains or something like that you could spice it up.
Good work.

wzl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:05am

Visually and aurally pleasing indeed, but the game play was rather dull. Would have loved to see more to this, as the gameplay really compromises its strong points.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:28am

Art and music are awesome, very polished game, but the gameplay needs more variations.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:21pm

The graphics are basically commercial grade. Audio was great. Gameplay could have been a tad deeper, but it works for a one-button game. Oh and I like how houses become slowly more snowed on so it's harder to see them. I really don't know what to knock about this game without saying "I wish it was a platformer instead", lol. Overall, This is pretty great stuff, but you already seem to know that, judging by the way you wrote your submission entry. =p I'd be interested to see what you pump out next LD. :)

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:37pm

pretty sweet but why did I get a game over screen like after 2 minutes? :(

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Seems like Newgrounds doesn't like me :-(

Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:36pm

naughtyloose: I'm not sure why you got a game over screen after 2 minutes, but I'm guessing you missed 3 green houses or hit 3 purple ones, or a combo of those two?

Sergey: Why doesn't Newgrounds like you?

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Awesome!

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Beautiful art. The ending caught me off guard...

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Nolan C: How exactly did it catch you offguard? Hopefully you just mean that it got difficult by the end... we haven't had any bug reports so far, did you just not realize that you have to hit green houses and not purple ones? Read the how-to screen! :)

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Lovely graphics and sounds. I also really like santas pose on the sled. I reckon it would make a good single-tap iPhone game.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:58pm

You weren't lying about addicting gameplay!

hirsch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Quite funny and nice idea. Seems to be polished. I the details like the little people running around. The music is maybe a bit too "sharp", but overall its an addicting little game :)

Elisée says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Very polished art and lovely mood! On the other hand, the gameplay has no depth and couldn't keep me hooked beyond a couple of games: wish the elves were attacking me somehow or there was something to dodge in the sky maybe.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Very nice, very complete game!
As the others have mentioned, the graphics and audio are great! I love the little things, the elves running back and forth, the changing scenery, etc. I particularly liked how you used the reindeer as a health bar, but I didn't catch on to it at first. Scored 1200 on my second game!

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:40pm

i like it ^_^

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Really fun game! Think I've just lost 20-30 minutes to it which is a fantastic sign! Great music, entertaining and well styled graphics. It looks like it would be home on a game like Warioware and the graphics + sound effects really looked like they would be cool on a gameboy advance era console. It could perhaps do with some more gameplay elements if I'm looking to criticise it. Perhaps holding down x to charge up bigger bombs although that would be odd to implment and possibly distract from the simple charm of the game? In summary a great example of a one button game!

donmilham says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:15am

Graphics and well planned and highly polished! Music was nice, but sound and music seemed to cut out on me at some point. Gameplay / controls were simple yet solid. Great job to all who contributed to this game.

Jacic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:12am

Amazing graphics and music! :)

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26am

Great pixel art and 8bit sound, but not much gameplay in there! Would have been fun controlling Santa to avoid something, maybe :D But very polished!

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Simple controls and one-shot-at-a-time make this a timing game. I think I'd enjoy multiple concurrent shots more -- it would make the beginning easier but you'd have to be very careful as it speeds up. Maybe Santa loses altitude as he loses reindeer.

The game seemed to switch every few seconds between half and full framerate in Chrome. Ran as expected in Firefox.

Great job on the dithered-VGA style and the chiptunes.

Very specific comments for a very good job!

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Beautiful! Gorgeous work on the art!

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:54pm

great game

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:04am

The pixel art was absolutely awesome, and the music was incredible.

Absolutely love the chiptune. Really fits the theme well as well.

Nice job.

Beerman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:06am

Graphics and soundtrack are awesome. Scrolling was a little chuggy, but pretty fun overall. Looks like it would make a great mobile game.

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Neat game! Enjoyed the art style. The rest of the game could have been more expanded in terms of gameplay (bombing gets pretty repetitive, like zachstronaut said), but I thought it was cool.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Nice game concept - excellent retro-style audio and graphics.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:58pm

I personally didn't like the gameplay, but that's just me. Graphics are great, sound is good if somewhat repetetive, the only thing I find notable is that I clicked the 'windows' link and ended up with a webgame. But yeah.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Awemose graphics, and chiptunes are everything. But the game can be a little repetitive.

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Great graphics and sound but seems that there are a few performance issues here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]