December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sheep Barbecue

by bompo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The post compo version fixes some stuff like the walk speed, grass drawing and reduces the sheep to catch count to "win" the game.

WebGL is quite slow on most machines, so try the JAVA version first.

Sneak in the grass behind a sheep to catch it, don't let them see you! You can stand up to get a better overview, but beware that the sheep can spot you more easy this way!

Controls
press and move mouse to look
press CONTROL/SHIFT to stand up
press SPACE to catch sheep

Used software: libgdx, blender, lmms

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#58Humor3.63
#120Graphics3.67
#148Audio3.08
#167Innovation3.30
#167Overall3.37
#269Mood2.96
#295Theme3.37
#316Fun2.93

Comments

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54am

Maeh! Maeh!

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:37pm

Haha, this made me laugh. Like the art-style, kinda works well for this game. Wish it was a bit faster paced though - walking around a lot!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Having the space key for the WebGL version is a bad idea, on my screen, which is a modest 900px tall there is usually no problem, but on anything smaller the window gets a scroll bar. The default function of a space bar in a browser is to scroll down... combine the two and you have the screen scrolling every time you hit spacebar.

Aside from that, it's a bit slow when trying to sneak up to the farm area, but the idea is good. Keep working on it! :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Interesting. I found it to be way too hard to be able to catch even one sheep, but maybe I'm just terrible at it :P. I didn't like the grass being everywhere -- clearings would be nice. Also, Bach is correct (woah, cool name! I love your music!) that walking is very slow.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:21pm

It felt so good to sneak up on this fluffy, little, jumping bastards!

Ehm, i mean, good game though. Only the area is maybe a bit to big. Sometime you hva eto walk pretty long to get one sheep.
Concept is also really nice.

Strkl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Very nice game, great job,

The area was definetely to weird, and the controls a bit akward, but the most annoying thing was the grass only displayed just in front of you (I thought I was going to be seen at firt if I got out of the grass field)

And just for the sheep sound effect that you made with all your heart, max rating for sound XD (That made me laugh really hard, thanks)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42pm

There are sooo many nice little things in this game! The music that plays only when you move e.g. is a really nice idea. Really makes you feel like the bugs bunny coyote ;) I also like the look of things. Well done :) Oh had to download the jar btw. the applet didn't work. Just a white screen. Here's a stacktrace, hope that helps: http://pastebin.com/8fsNM9EH

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Felt like playing Metal Gear Solid 3 :)
Awesome sound and graphics!

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:12pm

I would like to invert the camera looking control...
Love the grass generation, it is a little hard to catch a sheep for me, not even one! XD
Thanks for the code,...how did you manage to create the farm?
it would be easy to define the are inside the farm as non-grass-growing?

someone says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Awesome idea, the grass is cool. Great sound effects.
Controls are a bit awkward, the x axis needs inverting. It could do with a proper fps style mouse look. Click and drag was awkward on a touchpad.
Managed to catch two of them somehow.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Muahaha, I love this, barbecuing the sheep. A bit prolonged to be sure, but I enjoyed this. Would have been nice if you didn't have to click and drag the move to turn, though. Overall, a good job, keep up the good work!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Make me fells bad for the poor sheep but it was very funny! Nice game

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:05pm

For someone not used to inverted mouse, controls become a nightmare. I managed to kind of get a hang of it after a couple of minutes. Really love the sound effect when you move, gives it a really awesome cartoonish feel. And the grass looks super interesting. The game concept is not much different from the one I used in my game, and I like it a lot :-) Oh, one more thing: sheep is "sheep" in plural, not "sheeps." All in all—one of the best entries I've seen so far. Cheers.

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Very nice looking, funny and apropriate sound effects.
The inverted mouse was a nightmare for me though. Any time I did anything fast, old relfexes kicked in and I went the wrong way!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:52am

Inverted mouse threw me off and the playing area, while realistically large, is too large. Sheep seem to sometimes have uncanny powers of vision. Like the look, WebGL version worked great (Safari 6, OS X 10.8) Cool idea, up the pace and tweak it and it'll be great. Impressive for a 48hr entry!

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:59pm

One of my favorites. Love the sound effects, the idea of stealing sheep. Slowly crept up on one, he got scared and ran TOWARDS me, so I nabbed him anyway :D

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:16am

The aesthetic is nice. The notes played while walking became annoying soon though. Nice try!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Haha, nice idea in this one! I like the graphics.

I didn't really like the mouse controls, I would have inverted them and maybe set them not need dragging to move camera.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]