December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pirate Scum

by Diventurer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're the navigator in a pirate crew. Try to collect as much treasure (gold) and beat your highscore, as possible under your beloved captain's strict orders!

A and D to rotate ship, and W to move forward. You can use S to weirdly go backwards. Press Space to shoot cannonballs from the left middle of the ship. Use this to destroy the village far west in the map, or destroy Navy ships. (Note: Navy ships can't be destroyed because of a bug...)

Known bugs:
#1 - when you destroy a Navy ship, the ship won't disappear.
#2 - there are some places where you can sail on land without ruining your ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#412Graphics2.82
#530Humor2.06
#532Theme2.82
#687Overall2.32
#702Fun1.95
#711Coolness47%
#713Mood1.86
#724Innovation1.91

Comments

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54am

looks like I can always sail on land which made collecting treasure easier haha. Turning is really slow, and I'm not touching the navy ships but getting hurt, are they shooting at me? There is a nice exploration element with the different continents/islands.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

Thnak you. I had problems calculating collision with a rotated ship, so I just ended up adding some rectangle collisions on the land, so somewhere you might get hurt a little bit away from the land, and some places you can stay safe on the land. I made the Navy stop shooting as I couldn't finish the AI for it, so it just sails, and fights you non-visually when you're close to it. Unfortunately I didn't reach to fix a few bugs.

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Unfortunately doesn't run for me. Extracted the zip, ran the executable and seemingly nothing happened. A process appeared in task manager but nothing else. I'm on Windows 7 64-bit.

Hapistorique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01am

Decent game, but lack of innovation (the idea of playing a pirate is not really new, I can recall a few great pirate games similar to this)

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

The exe dies without any message :-(
(Windows 7 64bit)
I tried it with compatibility mode for windows xp and windows warned me, that program wants to change something on the harddrive. I accepted, but still it's not running.

Hope you didn't put a virus on my machine ;-)

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06am

@Sam Driver
I run Win7-64bit as well, so I don't know... Too bad, I guess :S

@Hapistorique
Thanks. I wanted to do more, but lack of time, you know. :/
I quickly made a highscore system and threw a bunch of treasure chests around just to actually have a game that at least has a point.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

@barigorokarl
Ehh, of course not. (•_•)
Seriously though, I don't know what is wrong...
It should work perfectly on Win7-64bit.
I'll look into it.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

Ow, the smiley got messed up. :|

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05am

Can't play windows games :-(

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:41am

Did work no problem for me (Windows 8 64-bit). The controls were really slow, and turning was excruciating (it steered like an actual boat, which in the case of a game might not have been for the best). Nice map though.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12am

@dalbinblue
Thank you! :D
I will take the controls critics as a compliement as well. :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

Kind of confused... apparently I can sail on land, but lose health? Although all the treasure is on land... well, I can understand since it's a compo entry, that must be tough. Regardless, I couldn't get into this game.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:12am

@DaGamesta
I wanted to just make it not possible to sail on land, but I could not get the math right, so I tried as well as I could to make land damage your ship. You're supposed to be able to get the treasure while on the ocean, but again - my math sucks. Sorry about that. Thanks for the feedback.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18am

While being a pirate certainly fits the theme, I couldn't get into this game because of the slow controls. Also, why am I able to sail through land?

Diventurer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:17am

@h.attila
The slow controls are part of the game. I did not want it to be a fastpaced game. Also, if you read the comments, you'll see why you can sail on land. It is because I had problems with the angular collision, so if I'd make the collisions stop you, you'd stop on sea sometimes. But not you just get a little warning with health being reduced. I'm sorry you couldn't get into it. I personally find the exploration part of it intriguing. I wish I'd have time to make a bigger map.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Pirates are the best villains! Nice idea. Would have been better without the bugs and I think it would have been more fun albeit less realistic if the ships were a lot faster.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:06pm

@HeyChinaski
Yeah - I'm going to make a new version of this game the way I originally wanted it to be like. Already busy with another project, but I'll work on this one at school starting January. :P
I'll also make ships faster, and just make a much bigger world instead. :)

zompi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:58am

Yarrr, moving backward is terrible, at least we can sail through the lands, yarrrr! Not bad, but not great. Fighting is incredible hard, I don't know if I took treasure or not (any sound should be good) and the lack of music... Well, but it has funny quotes up there :)

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice idea. Controlls were a bit annoying, but the concept was good.

Diventurer says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:07am

@zompi, StMatn
Thanks. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]