Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hat

by nate427 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

D to move. E to interact.

I didn't have much time this weekend so I decided to make an artgame because I didn't think it'd take a lot of effort. It didn't really take a lot of programming, most of my time was spent animating and placing the pieces of enviornment. I think it turned out pretty well.

I'm good at the actual programming and making of a game, but I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing when it comes to exporting and sharing it. Currently it'll only work on Windows 64-bit computers, sorry!

Follow me on twitter! @N427Games

Sorry for the lack of goats. :c

EDIT:

Spoiler warning, this paragraph is for after you've played the game. The purpose of the continuous childish rambling, even through adulthood, was to convey a sense of innocence and a lack of understanding of right and wrong. That's why I wrote 'alot' instead of 'a lot', along with some other improper grammar, to add to the childishness. And that's also why I let some of the narration not fit entirely on the screen, to make it feel more like rambling.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Mood3.79
#89Overall3.56
#104Innovation3.54
#122Theme3.76
#220Graphics3.32
#276Humor2.80
#560Fun2.42
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Jiyko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Fantastic!

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Nice story. :)

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Didn't work on my computer :(
Windows XP 32-bit

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Amazing, the story is so well thought out! I so wish there was a narrative category.

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Nice - like the way the story is told :)

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Very nice way to tell the story! Even though it's not quite a game, it was enjoyable story.

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Excellent storytelling, i had shivers at the end.

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

-Dvdking

But it isssss a game! :C

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Art_game
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interactive_Fiction

Anything with input from a user is a game. :P

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

It was beautiful thank you

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:11am

Very nice, i like the simplicity of it!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:30am

Awesome story, I really liked the theme of being unable to turn back, but some of the text didn't fit on the screen all at once so that kinda ruined parts of it. I liked the graphics a lot.

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:03am

really nice graphics and method of storytelling! i don't really buy the story, though. why did he keep narrating like a kid even when he was an adult? i guess that part didn't work for me.

ratking says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Awesome entry! I like this form of narrative, it's like a graphic novel. Try to find out how to deploy it on other platforms, please!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:11pm

My only irk was that you kept saying "alot" instead of "a lot", but other than that it was cool. It'd be nice if all the text fit on the screen, so you didn't have to sort of.. store all the strings of information in your head and put them together when you could see the end of the sentences.

But yeah, graphically very nice, a really interesting idea, niec one.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Wow, that was f'd up...wow. Very unique game. I think I cried inside.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:24am

oooo. That was good. I really liked the ending.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Now im sad...Nice work creating such a ominous mood...

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:57am

Not much of a game here so it has to hang together on story and art -- I thought the story was good, though maybe a bit hard to believe that the character didn't understand graduation hats, but understood killin' for money to buy a hat? Wouldn't he just steal a hat from a store? Still, I had a good time and the art was great.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:25am

Very, very well done. I thoroughly enjoyed the narrative as well as the method in which it unfolded. At each step I wanted to be able to do something other than let James ruin his life even more... but alas, it is not my place to make such choices. I could have closed the window, but I didn't. I decided to let James' choices unfold. The poor devil.

I hope to see more great things like this in the future! :)

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:02pm

My favourite game. Exactly the kind of mood I love. It has some very strong themes here too; that punitive systems are blind, that choices have repercussions and that we can't choose what we choose to choose. I got a lot from this game. I liked it how the player couldn't read everything at times. bla bla bla, thanks very much.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:48am

Definitely an interactive art, well thought out. Hats off to you! :P

naufr4g0 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:28am

I really like the story and how is told. =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]