December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Disaster

by Zazibar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Source is included in Windows download).

Dungeon Disaster

It is your job to control the Dark forces to repel the Human heroes from the dungeon!

- You control the Dark units placed on the map.

- Each unit has 2 turns that they can use for attacking or moving.

- Each unit has a movement range of 5.

- When attacking or moving, if your path turns red it's out of range.

- To cancel attacking or moving, right click.

- Priests and Mages have 3 attack range and 30HP.

- Warriors and Rogues have 1 attack range and 50HP.

- You can click on any unit to view remaining HP.

Clicking on a unit you control gives you 3 options:

1. Move (arrow icon)

2. Attack (sword icon)

3. End turn (red X icon) - This will end all of the turns on the selected unit

If the game crashes on startup, run the XNA Framework Redistributable installer included.

Thanks for playing!

Zazibar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#388Mood2.73
#427Graphics2.79
#429Overall2.85
#431Theme3.07
#494Fun2.56
#553Innovation2.46
#671Humor1.59

Comments

Psytew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

This doesn't seem to be working for me...

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

What's not working exactly? If the game crashes on startup, run the XNA Framework Redistributable installer included.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

I liked it. This game reminds me a lot of the game I did, although I think this one might be better. I would seriously continue with this, add more features. This game has great potential!

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

Definitely enjoyed this tactics game, I'd love to see it developed further. I think the theme wasn't strong enough (it seems like you just changed the model and called the character 'dark' to portray villain), but the random setup of characters made it cool to play a couple times. If the combat were deeper, and more levels were created I could see this idea being developed into a full-fledged tactics game. Nice work!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Great tactics game with random generating. Really hope it could be developed further.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Great idea, i'd like to see a developed verison !

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Well implemented, I didn't really know what decisions would be sensible however.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Thank you all for your comments.

I had originally planned to create something similar to a tabletop RPG where the player would act as the Dungeon Master controlling enemy units and even bosses to stop the invading heroes. If you take a look at the (horrible and unspeakable) source code you'll see there was support for loading levels from file, class specific abilities and a few more enemies in the sprite sheet. Sadly, I did not have the time to implement all of these, in fact the game only really became playable 2 hours before the deadline!

TheH says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Could be pretty fun if you do some post-work on it.

The graphics are reminiscent of the game "Realm of the Mad God", I was waiting for the staff/swords to swing like in that game.

Main complaint is that I couldn't always tell which action I was choosing. A selection box would be nice.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:27am

A fun game! Lost the first game but after that it was easy to strategize and win. I'd like more levels and a story but it's a good game nonetheless! 4/5

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Pretty impressive to do a tactics game in 48 hours =o

blob says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:05pm

You should really continue this idea with the enrolling creatures and all. Sounds really fun !

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:17am

Nice game. Little bit slow to input moves, but that's the only thing I would work on for now.Some more visuals - animation - particle effects further down the line might make this game really cool :)

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:34pm

It was really annoying having to select attack/move with the mouse (since the icons were so far away). Hotkeys would had been really nice... or, perhaps, if a menu appeared over the selected unit...

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:54am

Nice game. Hotkeys would make gameplay more comfortable, but besides that, your game really is well implemented.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]