December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Lair Construction Kit

by sanojian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hate elves? Sure we all do. Now is your chance for revenge!

Design your very own Evil Lair. Layout the rooms and hallways and set some treasure as bait. Curious adventurers can't resist those shiny baubles. Raise their hopes and then have your minions close in for the kill. As if the look of terror on their little faces is not precious enough, they often carry a few coins in their pockets as a bonus.

More treasure will lure more and stronger adventurers such as:
-the curious naive - not very filling
-the quick elf - the minions are always fighting over the chewy ears, the little scamps
-the hearty dwarf - delicious spread on warm toast
-the mighty knight - err... he looks kind of tough

Set traps, raise the dead and generally be awful.


HTML5 game. Have not tested in IE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#46Theme4.00
#220Innovation3.17
#297Graphics3.10
#309Mood2.89
#318Overall3.07
#350Audio2.47
#388Humor2.44
#448Fun2.67

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Idea is awesome, i had fun trying to do stuff, but object are a little too small in my opinion, and it miss a remove feature. I had to retry 10 times before getting it, but i really like it !

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Is anyone else obsessively checking their comments sections today when they should be working? ;-)

@Edocentrique - Thanks for trying it! I agree that stuff is too small. I decided on 12x12 early on and was too stubborn to change it later.

pbdiode says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24am

Very cool idea, a little slow to start as I wasn't sure exactly what to do. Good idea on the hints though, that helped a lot! Wish I could have multi-selected squares to dig out, or at least dug them out faster. That was perhaps a little slow/unresponsive when I played it.

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41am

@pbdiode - You drag to multiselect squares. Thanks for trying it!

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:45am

Looks good. I don't know why but my mobs are blinking all the time

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30am

Like the others, I had trouble figuring what to do. But once you get it it is fun to watch your lair come to life ! Maybe you could add some instructions in the web page to tell the players what to do ? One thing I didn't understand is what triggers the adventurers entering the lair.

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:51am

@dekart - not sure why they are blinking. If anyone else sees this can they tell me their browser and OS?

@Volute - the adventurers want treasure. Drop more treasure to get more/harder adventurers. Maybe you are right and I should add a tip on the webpage.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Great idea, I think it could benefit from some expansion, but overall I absolutely love it. Graphics were cool, some interesting crafting, vampires... it had it all

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Great idea but I find it hard to understand and a little too slow. A small tutorial would have been a great add ;)

Serilyn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:34am

Really neat idea. I like the list of goals on the side. I wish the graphics were a little bigger so I could tell what all the creatures were though.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:49am

Very cool. Loved the audio and the game is quite polished.

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Really cool idea, makes me want to play Dungeon Keeper again. :)

rxi says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:30am

I unfortunately got the following error after clicking the web link:



Over Quota

This application is temporarily over its serving quota. Please try again later.

sanojian says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:16am

@rxi - oh no my host ran out of bandwidth. I moved the site temporarily to dropbox until my quota refreshes. Sorry about that :-(

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:37pm

A very nice entry.
It is a little unforgiving though.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I really liked the game but I had problem digging (buggy?) at and understanding the whole game but I got hang of it and it became fun. Units could move faster as well (just a bit faster). Overall, nice entry :)

davidwparker says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Yeah, it's a neat concept, but the icons were really small, I couldn't remove things, and in general, I had no idea what I was building. I tried to follow the 'hints', but I still couldn't get it.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Loved it. Though sometimes a little slow, and the ai was a little off, I loved the idea, and the gameplay and the style. This, with a little feshing out, could be an freaking awesome game. Good job.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Good, love Dungeon Keeper-like games.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:03pm

It took me a while of trial and error to work out how to work the game, but a very pleasing result when it clicked :)

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Controls could be better. Is a little slow. But nice idea. And somehow nice to watch.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Really great idea with a lot of good points, but the execution fell flat in a couple of ways. I don't know if it was just me, but clicking to dig area was very inconsistent. It would take me several clicks to place a square, and then a couple more clicks to break down the wall. I didn't realize I had to do that, and my first time I just had tons of 1-square rooms with no way to pass between them.

I think the balance is a bit off. It's pretty easy to kill tons of adventurers fast. Just place all your treasures out in the dirt so nobody can get them, put one trap in the front room to kill the first guy who comes by, and every time someone dies raise them into a zombie. Soon you'll have a single small room full of zombies, and tons of treasure in the middle of nowhere to lure them in. (I realize placing treasures out of bounds is probably a bug, but it would still work without that.)

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Nice overall, more feedback on why you can/cant buy things or how to connect rooms would be nice, took me a while to find out i had to overlap. The AI tends to get stuck at the enterence as well, i kept having to dig more tunnels to lead them to the treasure or they'd just amass an army there.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]