December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The Level Designer!

by devwil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is what I could do in 48 hours with a concept that I'd really like to expand upon. It's got 8 levels, weak graphics, and my own first attempts at puzzle/level design... but I'll write about that strange situation another time.

In this game, you modify a platformer level in real-time to make sure that it's able to be completed by this goofy little person who runs around it automatically!

Created using Processing.

I'm trying to get a ProcessingJS version to a playable state. In the meantime, there is an applet version. It runs terribly on certain configurations, and I disabled the sound because it wasn't working correctly! Sorry!

I'd really appreciate feedback! If you like the game, let me know so I have a reason to develop this concept further! All suggestions are welcome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#176Innovation3.28
#529Fun2.50
#669Overall2.39
#677Mood2.08
#682Graphics2.06
#760Theme1.56
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Not sure I'm I'm doing something wrong, but I'm running 64-bit windows and when I try to run the batch file the console just opens and closes quickly. I can't play.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19pm

It doesn't really seem playable at the moment, but I would like to see a post-compo version.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

I can't work out what the second block in the list (featured in level 4) does; i.e. I don't understand level 4. Help?

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Not working for me either.

Cell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

This isn't a original concept but i liked it :)

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Really fun :)

Whenever the player is killed though, the level is restarted and you loose the item you were going to place! If that is on purpouse it makes the game such more difficult!

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Really nice idea, and great fun!
But the game really need a pause button.

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

The level design is good, but the player doesn't have time to think. Some levels have an alternate solution (solved level 6 without collection coins in the lower right corner, solved level 8 without buying anything), so you should have been tested it enought (or ask people).
I didn't find out the feature of the cracked brown block. Whenever I hit it from right, it seems to crack more, but the player goes 1 block down, getting stuck in the floor. You should write features by text, desirable beforehand.
The block placement gets cancelled when the player dies. It's especially notable in level 1. I was wondering, why can't I place a block, thought I follow the instruction. The player needs to act fast, and it's not recommended in puzzle games.
Another little bug: when you buy a block by dragging the icon, but don't place it (like by draging TNT to an empty space), it remains bought and your money gets spent.
Anyway, good luck improving this game! It looks promisable.

devwil says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

A pause button is a decent idea, but the tile you're holding being taken away is deliberate. Some of the levels were designed with timing in mind.

I figured if someone was buying a tile by clicking the icon, they actually wanted to buy and keep it.

Also, some of the levels have red herrings, but my fiancee was able to beat the final level without using half of the resources provided, so yeah: testing is good! I sort of ran out of time to do more things with all of the elements of the game, so yeah: some blocks are used better than others.

For those of you having issues running it, sorry! I just had Processing spit out all of the desktop versions it can handle, but I'll see if I can solve anything.

Finally, I'm really curious as to why this isn't an original concept. Like, where else has this been done? I'm not having a huge crisis over the originality of this idea, but if it's been done before, I should take a look at those games to make sure I learn from them and/or do something more original.

Thanks so much for the feedback, everyone!

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

The character runs needlessly fast - slow things down, add a pause too, add more guidance for players getting stuck, and you'll have a fun game. (I fear you got rather used to the controls after 48 hours of development, but for some of us, accurate dragging and dropping is quite a challenge - and it's a shame for the game to be rendered so difficult to play for some as a result!)

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20pm

This game has a lot of potential in my opinion, but you should have the option to pause the Game in order to place tiles... I found it too hard to place the tiles in time on my laptop...

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:57pm

I like the idea of the game, but there seems to be a problem with the character moving to quickly, and the level reloading before you can put something down. Interesting concept, though. I'd love to see a post-compo version

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07pm

I really like the idea and would love to see it developed further, but I don't like that you lose the block you're holding when the character dies. Makes things needlessly frustrating, especially on a laptop trackpad.

It might be better to have a pause/play button to control the character's movement? I found the constant jumping noise really annoying.

I made it to level 5 before stopping. You should really keep working on this, it shows a lot of promise!

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Interesting idea.

SFX says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:23pm

This game would have been a less frustrating with a pause button. Also, what does this have to do with the theme?

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The clickign and dragging is downright frustrating, i found myself often knowing what to do but simply not being able to drag it in place quickly enough, would have been more fun if there was keyboard controls to select what to place so i could just concentrate on clicking. I don't really see much of the theme though, seems more like you're trying to be the good guy by letting him get to the end of the level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]