December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Santa

by Cat Burton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry called Bad Santa.

You play the role of Santa who has left no time for christmas shopping and thus must steal presents from people's houses instead.

The items you need to find are on a "shopping" list in-game. The list is randomly generated each play-through from the available items. If you succeed in completing a level, the next list will have more of the rare items on it, making the levels increasingly difficult to complete.

When playing the game, you need to avoid being seen/detected by the house residents. If they see you directly, they will call for police support. If they detect you, they'll give you a warning. 3 warnings and the police are summoned. The police in the level will spend most of their time patrolling the roads. They can only hear within a certain range of the resident of the house, so if you time it right, they may not come at all! If they do give chase, try to hide. You can't outrun them for long, but if they lose sight of you, they may just get bored and wander off!

I've made 5 tiers of items, ranging from super common (frequent spawns) yellow presents, up to extremely rare (red) items.

The game has been build in Unity 4.0 and so I've made builds for Web, PC, Mac and Linux.


The controls are:
WASD/Cursors to move
Left Shift to run
H to show the help menu explaining the present colours (rarity)
L to see your shopping list and which items you need
C to show the list of controls


Since I'm a coder and Unity fan, I've spent most of my time making the game (about 20hrs) rapid prototyping in Unity and coding the patrol/navigation/present-spawning logic. In hindsight it was perhaps too big for a weekend project but I'm pleased with the result. I've tried to make the game look the best I can in the time frame. I'd never used Pixelmator to make assets before, so that's been a great learning experience!

Well, if you read all that - thanks! I hope you enjoy the game! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#245Theme3.47
#247Humor2.89
#284Fun3.00
#387Overall2.94
#495Innovation2.59
#553Mood2.42
#607Audio1.19
#620Graphics2.22

Comments

kroltan says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:17pm

The cops are ragingly fast! They should be like 1.3x Santa's speed.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:16am

Fun, and quite difficult

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21am

Love the idea! Surprised it hasn't been done sooner. Also like the blueprint-aesthetic :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01am

Great work, lots of variety. If you're going to have players reading text before starting, might as well toss in the controls there IMHO.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

It took a while before I figured out you can run. You could have shown that in the text at the beginning, imo :)
I like the game, though!
Also, some kind of sounds/music would have been nice.
But overall, it's great fun =D

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Really fun idea.

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Hilarious! especially when you see the cop that runs towards Santa!

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

It would be cool if there were "hide spots" where you could bolt to if you've been spotted by the cops so you could avoid them if you make it there. Neat concept and it plays out well, nice job!
P.S. If you stand still when the cops chase you they'll leave you alone after a few seconds and you won't get caught. :D

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45am

Okay it was really cool and there is the most efficient policemen i've ever see ! I think they're robots or something because i only escaped them twice. Good job !

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

More difficult than I thought it would be. The controls feel really nice. But it took me a while to figure out you could run :D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

Cool idea. Missed the controls on screen so didn't know you could run. Re-played. Pretty fun. Should be able to out run the cops when running so you can get away and restart. Should probably aggro other cops if you're being chased. Good stuff overall and enough potential to keep adding to this.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:13am

yeah, +1 for hide spots. It is a nice game though. And funny idea to :P

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51am

Nice concept and the core mechanic of sneaking around was surprisingly fun!

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

Difficult as hell, maybe I'm too willing to steel other's presents hehehe. AI looks nice for the NPCs wandering inside houses. Maybe it would have been cool a sound meter while moving, or vision cones. Sometimes i thought i was covered but they got me. And some policemen never stop chasing me! :O When that happened it was impossible to continue :/. Another thing is that in this game is good to scape in zig-zag hehehe, if you go in diagonal, both speed sum, so you run twice faster ;). Nice idea and good mechanics! :D

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:08am

I found a portal gun but I couldn't use it!

Atomic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Better graphics and an evil Christmas song would bring this into the top 5 easily. It's fun and hard, I might not have been able to finish the first list if I hadn't found a relatively unprotected house and camped there.
Can I have a Flux Capacitor for Christmas? Please?!?!?

jujule says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42am

Santa arrested buy angry policemen. Excellent.
Is it possible to loose the cops ?

hypp says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Fun, but hard!!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Whoa, fastest policemen ever! The sneaking is cool, I would have liked the option to move the camera a short distance independantly of Santa, so I could scope out the area before I moved

Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:13am

Indeed, those policemen are fast. I noticed that they lose interest if they can't spot you "in time" but they move so fast that time window is too narrow for Santa to fit through most times. ;)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I like the idea and the potential of the game, but you need to spend some time on the controls. It's way too slow to move, especially to escape when someone is chasing you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]