December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Deadland

by yokcos700 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play the role of an evil purple blob, who has made it his aim in life to corrupt the world with his disease, which he has dubbed Deadland.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#158Overall3.39
#182Fun3.23
#183Graphics3.45
#213Innovation3.19
#361Mood2.78
#361Humor2.54
#433Theme3.06
#481Audio2.04

Comments

64Mega says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53am

Good game. Had some interesting concepts, but that vertical level where you had to aim at the purple blocks on the way down was a bit too much.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Cute platformer, very intuitive. I like the simplicity of this. But that pair of spikes in level 4 or 5 killed my patience!

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11pm

The Sounds are a bit annoying

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Nice game! I found myself wanting to keep playing to find out all of the different mechanics you put in! And damn, there were quite a few. :P I feel some of the mechanics could have been used more to make it into more of a puzzle game, as I found that the game was fairly easy (even the falling level that the previous comment mentioned). Good job, anyway. :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Wow! I actually really enjoyed this game! The gameplay started out extremely simple, but quickly grew into something complex and exciting. The remote missile level was challenging but extremely satisfying! And I love your main character design. Could have used more sounds, and maybe a bit more polish on the art, but overall fantastic game.

rolfeth says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50pm

well done! got to the level with jumping and missiles. Controls could be fastere though.

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

A very good idea and very well executed at that. Excellent. I justwould like the pace to be a bit faster.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Wow, that was fun! Very challenging at some points, I almost gave up on the glass level with the remote missile. Could have used some music, but it was awesome anyway!

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Very nice one.
I'get stuck on the level with big plant. I can't bypass that wall (block-glass-block), because i don't have any weapon left for the last part of the wall. What I need to do?

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Best game I've played yet this competition. The graphics are nice (although animating the monster would have been great).

The gameplay itself - just wow! You had so many ideas and you actually managed to execute them all. The level design was good as well and I was surprised how many levels you managed to do.

The only big problem with the game is the lack of meaningful audio. It's such a shame because this could have been an amazing game.

You should definitely work on this game and try to extend it after the competition.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:38pm

A good puzzly platformer thing, though I think it overstayed its welcome a bit with the later levels - more isn't always better.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

@Everyone: Alas, I ran out of time before I could implement any meaningful audio. Also, I suck at making music.
@Pixelbear: I wanted this to have a kind of puzzle game feel about it. Which brings us onto...
@Tumoxep: Go up and grab the missile, destroy the first wall. Then, go up and grab the fireball, burn the glass/ice. Then, burn the black plant.
@Jujule: I never thought of gameplay pace while I was making it. I suppose I should have, yes?
@Starspell: Thanks! I'll try to work on this more sometime.
@Devenger: I think the later levels (maybe not the one with the ice crystal) are fine. Nothing before them were really hard in the slightest.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Good game ... purple people do you know it!

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Nice game. Graphics could be improved, and right now there isn't really any challenge.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38pm

So many mechanics to explore. Could have used a bit more inertia on the main character (maybe not VVVVVV-ish, but at least Mario).

ceronman says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Very nice game. I'm impressed with the number of levels and items that you made in only 48 hours. Well done. It was very fun!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:57pm

I really enjoyed how many gameplay mechanics there were with this. I also really liked how the game was based on completionism. I'm OCD so on games where you get to graffiti the environment I just have to colour EVERYTHING anyway, so to make that the core game mechanic was perfect. Nice one.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:22am

Original idea with some good concepts. Fairly simple and relaxing to play, although I found the help text signs difficult to read.

garygreen says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Fun game and nice graphics. It kept me interested all the way through... well, as far as I could get. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]