December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Thief

by Cryptoporticus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

Use the arrow keys to move and space to interact with certain objects. Press M to turn the music on/off.

You play as a gold thief who must avoid being caught as he tries to steal gold.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#99Mood3.36
#131Fun3.36
#164Overall3.38
#230Theme3.50
#237Audio2.81
#430Innovation2.70
#456Humor2.25
#475Graphics2.68

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Even though this was really hard (those double lasers too OP) and I don't like repeating stuff over and over I played it through to the end!

This is a game that could really benefit from some lighting algorithms like this (http://www.catalinzima.com/2010/07/my-technique-for-the-shader-based-dynamic-2d-shadows/). It would make the game look better and you could probably add some features based on it too. Otherwise, good job!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

This is really well done, I can see this being a good basis for a full game. Reminded me very much of the impossible game.

It didn't appear the security cameras did line of sight checks against walls which would have been nice.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06am

Nice game, get pretty challenging later on, and the controls are nice.

xandy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:10am

liked it but the slow player movement makes failures on the way back to the start very frustrating.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09am

I liked the idea of a heist game with an abstract graphics style. I think the music loop is too short, so it quickly got repetitive, and the game got hard really soon.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:14am

this is a good seed of an idea, and i like that you started out with a sort of mini-tutorial. you could definitely take this further, too. i'd tweak the movement to make it a bit faster, though - it's ok but didn't quite work for me once i got to the part with the lasers (which i had problems with because their pattern wasn't particularly well communicated).

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:54am

Awesome. One of my favorites so far. That said, the last level was frustrating, why did the button have to be down that long hallway? That was just tedious.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:50am

I'll admit I got frustrated and gave up trying to get past the double lasers, but the controls and gameplay is really well done. A bit annoying having the pop up text information covering the player when there was plenty of room at top or bottom of screen for it.

InfN555 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:07pm

The idea of this game is great, and I really like the "torch" idea of the guards. There are a few bugs, like the fact that you can get stuck on a wall if you walk too close, but if you fix that and get more time to do the graphics, I think I would play this again. :)

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Cameras kept killing me :/

It could be improved a lot as mentioned before, but it makes a great challenge.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Knowing how far any actor can look beyond what you've drawn as their fov would be handy but I guess that would make it too predictable. If you indeed add onto this with some calculated lighting you could end up essentially playing Metal Gear Solid but only seeing the radar screen, which is fun enough.

markengley says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:50pm

A nice idea, although the pacing was a little slow - too much walking between puzzles and repetition. Also the cameras and other stuff were on complete hair triggers.

You got an amazing amount done though, and overall this is a really solid effort. Well done!

zompi says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56pm

I love stealth games. That two lasers room was really cool. Only that blocks of infos were annoying because they covered the game. Anyway, really good game :)

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:59pm

I also wish the player moved faster.

I wonder if it'd be a good idea to implement multiple entrances/exits? As it is now, you basically play each level twice. It would also add more gameplay in the form of route planning.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:27am

Nice simple puzzles tha get progressively harr at a good rate for a short game! Sight-areas could be a bit more accurate.

blob says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:17pm

That was super cool ! I found myself trying to finish the levels as fast as I could as in super meat boy: you should add a timer and save the player's best time for each level. The game feels really fun and the simple art and music did the job well. 5 stars for Fun.

delpes says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Very nice and challenging. Goo control. More levels pls :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Nice entry, needs more levels. :) Background music sets a good mood.

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Very fun game. Nice learning curve. Nice controls.

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:01am

The fourth level chugged a little on my computer. Though I admit I am running Windows through Parallels.

The line of sight for the cameras and the guards not being the same as the cone frustrating at times.

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:02am

Enjoyable and well delivered on the concept of thievery. As others said, an entire game built around the concept would be a welcomed game to my collection.

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:32am

Nice entry! Was a bit frustrating, that the line of sight was a little unclear, but the game was fun anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]