December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Final Days of the Victor

by KhaoTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short game about villainy, fortresses, and the the end of the world.

Written in Twine. Sounds recorded on a Zoom H4n and edited in Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#82Audio3.36
#93Mood3.39
#498Overall2.75
#514Innovation2.54
#573Theme2.69
#657Humor1.67
#724Fun1.86

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43am

Wow, this is actually quite good. Brings me back to my early years of gaming. Sounds really sealed the mood!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52am

Not sure if I was the bad guy or the prisoner--more of a story than a game, really. Does the story branch or is there one "right" path through it?

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

The sounds made this much more enjoyable, great work!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12am

That was really nice. The writing was good, and the sound effects helped a lot with the mood. The css theme seemed a bit chirpy for the content!

Porpentine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

i like it, evocative.

yay fellow twine user

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59pm

The sound really helped make this work...

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Very nice! Missed a few details on the first playthrough but everything fell into place after I played it again.

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Nice writing !

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:32pm

Uh. That was nice.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:52am

The remarkable writing coupled with the sound effects really made for an engaging experience, though there is no actual gameplay.

Zed says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:57pm

I like this. It really made me think. Intrigued.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:52am

Good writing. Not a game as much as a story, but a good story relevant to the theme. Nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]