December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Legacy of Hamelin

by Draknek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in 14 hours using FlashPunk.

You can access a level editor by pressing E. Press space in the editor to toggle the tile-picker.

Right-click -> copy to save your level.
Right-click -> paste to load a level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Innovation3.59
#166Graphics3.50
#237Overall3.23
#286Humor2.75
#297Theme3.36
#306Mood2.90
#324Fun2.91
#406Audio2.29
#948Coolness32%

Comments

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Hey, I like the idea and concept, very nice. Music's a bit annoying, though. ;)

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

I really liked the concept of taking that old story into a game. The graphics looked very nice, the levels were fine and fun. Had a good time playing those 4 or 5 levels. Good work.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Really cool concept Draknek. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing for the first few bits of the game. The idea that you move the rats into the houses/block, then the major tells you to drown them, then you steal the children because you aren't paid is fantastic.

The puzzles are fun too although there are lots of ways to solve them and it's not too challenging.

The graphics are awesome and I like the audio being your movement.

Considering you only had 14 hours this is great!

kannas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

wow, i' d like to play some other levels! :D

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Interesting idea.
Took a while to figure out what to do with the children.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38pm

wow, tricky !

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

I like this game a lot, and the level editor is a big plus.
This is my try: AeNq1jlsOgCAMBEcsrfc/sX1Ao/47yQKbSRvAsRU/k34YUxgcHplEZRNVEFwN/JZls6bliVdtq2U1jZb9VO1J7VVnr7L4XwW73vAbN4ciAic=

Cryovat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

It's a bit rough, but there's a good concept and mechanic for a puzzle game in there. :-)

Draknek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Colapsydo: nice, thanks for making that! :)

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28pm

took me a minute to figure out, but was pretty interesting when i knew how to play. unfortunately, i never felt the pied piper was the villain in the story: the townspeople ripped him off, so he made them pay in a different way.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:18pm

nice simple thing going on here. Don't know why things are happening but it was neat anyway. lol

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]