December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Solitaire

by ziomorti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello there!

So this time, for the theme You are the Villain, I thought of a game of solitaire where the card deck goes crazy and starts kicking the suits' asses!
Cool uh?

-----------------
HOW TO PLAY

CLICK on the Evil Solitaire Deck to spawn a card
DRAG the card on one of the four attack positions
when enemies start approaching
DRAG the appropriate suit on the attacking card to start the attack

remember that :

HEART destroys SPADES
SPADES destroys HEARTS

NULL stops the attack

Overall the game is a bit tricky but still I think it has some degree of potential...
Hope you enjoy it and thank you for playing! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Innovation3.67
#230Audio2.83
#529Fun2.50
#549Overall2.67
#640Graphics2.17
#1150Coolness10%

Comments

Ardale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:02am

Nice mechanics, but it's really difficult!:)

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33pm

I have no idea what I am supposed to be doing, I put a load of cards down and got destroyed both times I tried - more guidance please!

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38pm

love the audio, pretty fun :)

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Pretty difficult, but I like the idea. Bonus points for the evil laughter. :)

gnx says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:47am

Interesting mechanic, actually works quite well.
The difficulty seems to be pretty punishing :)

lotusgame says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice novel concept. Hard to understand at the begining, a visual and animated tutorial seems to be necessary for the first steps. Good job.

schnerble says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This is pretty cool - but it's definitely a bit hard... if you're lucky enough to get a few high cards at the start it's OK, but otherwise it's pretty tough. I couldn't get over 50. Nice idea though :)

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:25am

Nice game. I liked the idea. Hotkey for faster switching of attack-modes would have been great.

naufr4g0 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:31am

Love game mechanics, but the game is really hard!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]