December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

City Sucker

by Rose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are now a villainous vampire, bent on sucking the blood of as many innocent city-dwellers as possible in a limited amount of time! Test your reflexes by swooping into windows.

There are two things I wish I had done differently, but I ran out of time:
1. When you run out of time in the game, everything stops - you have to press 'r' to play again (unfortunately it's not very clear.)
2. The blood meter is longer than it needs to be - the actual max score you can get is 170.

Unless you have a Mac, you will have to download LOVE to play. Downloading LOVE is probably worth your time since a lot of LD games use it!

(+1 goat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics4.00
#72Humor3.54
#81Fun3.50
#95Mood3.38
#104Audio3.29
#115Overall3.50
#224Theme3.53
#386Innovation2.81
#990Coolness28%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

Very cool! Love the goat :D

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

Really hurts from not having a game over screen.

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28am

Nice concept. I ran out of time before filling blood meter :(

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Nice job, liked the soundtrack

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

Awesome game! The art is really lovely and the sounds suit it well. Even when you crash the bat into the wall, the art/audio makes it still fun and not frustrating. Good job! :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:00am

Really like this game. Art is top notch. 170 is the max in 30 seconds. I want more. Great job.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Oh, that poor goat!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:10pm

For me the overall it's a very good game to LD. Great great work.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Really fun. The graphics and bat animations are superb.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]