December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Not Space Invaders

by munchor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not Space Invaders is a game very much like the good old Space Invaders, but where the player is the villain. Thus, you play as the aliens and try to destroy the humans preventing the invasion.

Choose one of the invaders using the arrow keys and press [Space] to shoot!

- For Windows users, there's a click-and-run executable.
- GNU/Linux users should install love2d from their package manager ('apt-get install love' if you're running Ubuntu) and then run the .love file.
- For Mac OS X there's a .zip with a .app they can easily double-click to run inside it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#202Theme3.57
#301Innovation3.00
#388Mood2.73
#406Overall2.90
#413Humor2.36
#454Audio2.14
#492Graphics2.63
#511Fun2.53

Comments

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08am

I've had a similar idea in my head floating around for a couple of years. I'm glad to see someone implemented it! Fun game.

eShredder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18am

It is executed very well. Although, it was a tad problematic to not have the alive aliens go all the way to the edge of the screen when I had a couple of dead ones hanging on my sides.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:22am

Yeah, always great to see a twist on an old classic. The one thing that makes it a bit easy is that the player doesn't move very often, and the offset is somewhat predictable.

Of course, if the player moved too much, it would be impossible. Maybe it would help if you could somehow fire from more than one invader at once?

Anyway, nice job!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35am

Nice one. Is there red UFO to use? :ppp

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

Well executed game, my friend did similar concept from different approach.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

A nice idea, slightly nostalgic feeling from how space invader it looked. The ship ai was a bit too precise though and kept stopping and standing in the same spot.

Perhaps change the ships ai to be more ineffective and add some of the shelters from the original space invaders.

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Nice! I like that you can select which alien to shoot with. Eerie sound

Flai says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Kind of easy but still pretty solid

Imperiopolis says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10pm

It'd be nice if you when your ships died, you could no longer select them with the arrow keys. I was frequently switching to and trying to use dead ships (since when they're selected they look exactly the same). Otherwise, it's very fun and a cool concept :)

munchor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04pm

>(since when they're selected they look exactly the same)

Well, the death ones are pink and the alive ones are red, but thank you for the feedback!

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Great idea! Though you get so many aliens that it's pretty easy (I found).

munchor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Yeah... So far some people say it's too easy and others say it's too hard, it really depends on your general arrow-keys-based games.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:02am

Neat idea to select with Space Invader you wanted to be. Was easy to play once you picked up on the fact that the player was always in a certain position and if you picked the right invader, going the right direction, it was a perfect hit. Good idea, though.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Great! :-DDDD

TheSheep says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Very nice idea and execution. A shame that the invaders are not animated, like in the original, and the resolution of sprites is not consistent.

mokujin says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Nice gameplay, i managed to won, but that was quite hard. Poor space invaders ._.

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:41am

Very cool idea :D I'd really like to play this with some more levels! Maybe it would be fun to let the player spam attacks and decrease the number of invaders each level. Nice work!

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:06am

Nice idea, wish there was more content. Was able to beat it on my first try and then that was it!

jfroco says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:54am

Interesting idea. A little too short but that's the duration of the original Space Invaders. Kudos for using Love2D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]