December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trip of Doom

by Nonakesh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The citizens are fed up with their boring lives. While they're all on a cruse, you want to do them a favor and destroy their homes, which would give them the joy of variety. Unfortunately the military doesn't like change, so they'll shoot you with their artillery as soon as they notice your wonderful plan.

Controls:

Movement: WASD
Fire you laser: Left mouse button / CTRL
Jump: Space

(of course you can configure that yourself)

Sometimes jumping doesn't work... I have no idea why this happens, but lets just say it is totally intentional.


Additional Gameplay Info:
Although I'm quite sure you will sooner or later notice that stuff yourself, but here are some background infos for the gameplay:

If you destroy stuff the robot will become faster, but it will also cause more artillery shots. If you stop destroying things you will become slower again, but the artillery shots will continue.
On top of being faster you will only do more damage, including the laser.

The green light indicates that you can jump again.
The red light gives you a rough measurement of your current "rage" level.

Nearly everything can be destroyed. (including the skyscrapers, but not the walls.. they are the boundary of the map)


Here is a link to the build folder. I didn't have place for all the build options... unity is awesome!

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/amocst9g4e21usq/jOOne7jZXN/Trip%20of%20Doom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#38Graphics4.14
#41Overall3.76
#58Fun3.59
#61Theme3.95
#187Innovation3.25
#231Humor2.94
#298Mood2.91
#307Audio2.58

Comments

GIB3D says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15am

Nicely done!

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:29am

Thanks!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21am

I really like the composition of your 3d-assets with the cell-shading look. I wish there were more explosions (har har) and some kind of goal or meta-business. The feedback on when you can jump again and what your "rage-level" is, was so subtle that I didn't even realize that something is changing ;) Nevertheless, nice work.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

Thanks! Now the main feedback for the "rage-level" is of course the speed of the character and the damage increase... the jump reload-thing is the green flash of light.

It was more a experiment to make a game without a GUI (but still some information for the user)

Follett says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

hahah that was awesome. Ripping buildings in half is really fun!

apeandskate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22am

Well done, cool game, lasers are always nice :)

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

I tell you what, stomping through fences is immensely satisfying!

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03am

Nicely done, to be sure, but adding some music into it would be nice

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04am

I like been a robot and destroy everything ! Great graphics style. One thing you coul add is an "achievment" system where every score step display a funny message, so everyone will want to see them all by flattening the entire world.

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

why did I explode?

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57am

Loved this game, quite a lot. 3/5 stars overall, and a few 5/5's :) Great work, and great entry!

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31am

@Skyshifter Yeah I know... I even had about two hours left for the soundtrack, but I was just too tired to think of something that would fit to the game.

@NuSan That's a great idea! Maybe I'll add it to the game... and a online highscore list as well...

@peggiosoft you got hit by the artillery!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08am

Pew Pew Pew I liked this ^.^

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

Wow, awesome game. Just thinking that you had to do the robot's model and animation, the model for everything... Really great!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:34pm

I liked it. The only thing I found irritating was the slowness of the robot.

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:38pm

@bentog The robot and its animations was the thing I spent the most time on... Almost the entire first day. It is also the first time I made a animated character for a game, so I'm really glad that you noticed the work behind it!

@CoffeeOnimal You become MUCH faster if you destroy a lot of stuff in a short time.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

At first I was like, well, I guess this is nice...and then I did a front flip against a car! aww yeah! :D

jayhC says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Really funny game and nicely implemented. I had fun playing it. And I played longer then most of the other games.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Really good job ! In my opinion it just miss a background music, and some people screaming around !

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Nice looking game, snappy controls, had fun.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Wow, sweet game! It was highly entertaining to go stomping around the city. Good job!

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Almost 5/5 :D
I feel like Tetsuo in Akira hahahaha
You did a great job m8

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

awesomesauce. I've always wanted to do that. Thanks!!!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06pm

I really like this - if it had had a "win" condition that would've been perfect but knocking all that stuff over was really fun - thanks :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42am

The best tell now ... needs only goals and a story

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Nice abuse of the physics engine. The robot is pretty cool and the animations are quite good.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Nice job with animations and models. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]