Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the King

by naughtyloose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You've been elected as the new king of the kingdom. During a stormy night visions of a great drought hunt your dreams.
You wake up realizing you have only 200 days left to gather enough food or your citizens will starve and perish. In shock you speak to your advisors but they don't believe you.

Are you willing to sacrifice the goodwill of your people in order to save them?

As it was foretold in your vision you must gather 5'000 counts of food before the end of 200 days in order to save your kingdom."


Interaction:

Right mouse click anywhere rotates the camera. You can use the mouse wheel to zoom in and out. There is no other interaction then the buttons on the interface.

Gameplay Instructions:

To win the game you must gather 5'000 counts of food within 200 days. Every NPC uses 1 food each day. So make sure you get enough food or else your citizens will starve and die.
If you keep your workers busy all the time (not giving them rest) they'll get angry and eventually stop working for you. You can force them back to work by using soldiers but soldiers are expensive. They cost you 2 gold every day.
You get gold from your non-working citizens.

So try to find a good balance between your resources and get your citizens to work. Even if that means you'll become the villain in their eyes. :) Thats basically it. I hope you enjoy playing it and let me know if you were able to finish the game.

Thanks for reading. Oh and on a final note: don't use the web player version because you'll get the right click menu when trying to rotate the camera. Sorry about that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#190Overall3.31
#266Graphics3.18
#324Fun2.91
#326Innovation2.94
#394Mood2.72
#560Audio1.53
#673Humor1.58
#698Theme2.16

Comments

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45am

Hi! Nice game. The programming for 48hours is impressive. I imagine its quite hard to make this. I liked the gameplay, It has all the basics of a simple strategy game :) (Except enemies of course - well, yourself maybe :D) Good job

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Thank you! Actually I'm pretty amazed of how much I got done in this short time:)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Kinda boring. Doesn't fit the theme that well. Not particularly impressed, even though the 3d is nice

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44pm

I thought this was really intresting and the graphics made it feel like a little toy that you would just watch in your room when you were little. I though it was fun and different from other games. However it didnt really lead on to anything it kind of felt like after 10 secounds id done everything so i just kind of watched the little people running around which is still pretty cool and makes a nice mood but i think something else could have made it even better.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45pm

It's a little bit like age of empire/black&white, impressive work !

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Fun and challenging, I like it. Would have been nice to see the theme used in a better way though.

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Good job, you don't see many RTS in Unity. I agree that adding enemies would improve it a lot :)

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Good entry! I really like the game as a micromanager, and surelly it took you time to program all the stuff. Graphics are cool. It is funny to look at your inhabitants at the moment your kningdom reaches an homeostasi. Maybe I would agree a little bit as it does not fully fit the theme, as yeah Kings can be bad, but in this case you must be good to make the kingdom work ;)

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Really good game, i was in 'flow' mode for more than an hour :) But at the day 0 i didn't get a notification about losing the game

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Ya I know, its a bug :) Nice to hear you got into a flow :)

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Good game! I like the RTS element. Very steady job on the graphics. Simplistic and yet fitting the game. Played it with much joy.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Deep strategy, impressive for 48hours... Show great programming skills.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Very impressive!

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Enjoyable, and definitely impressive.

pereubu says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:20pm

great amount of work here, and nicely done. The minimalistic style gives enough feedback and there a lot of challenge here :3

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:26pm

Cool concept. Getting it done in time is great. Not sure about the theme. Would love some hints or tips and ramp up as it went on. Ran into a few walls. Wasn't sure why I needed soldiers. Audio would have helped.

FYI - you can disable the right click popup menu in the deployment settings for Unity Web. Look online.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Well done, but I stopped playing with over 170 days left to go in the game - please consider that we have 1300+ other entries available to try! :D

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Looks really nice for such a short notice and its fun, however, I think it needs slight balancing because you can lose as early as day 30.

Per says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Very nicely done in 48h!
Looks really great and plays well.

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The scenario reminded me of Fable 3. The style of the game is very clean and clear. I like it.
I found it quite hard. I didn't get to prepare for the drought, all my people died.
Some sound would have been nice.

All in all very impressive.

johndb says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very difficult! Around day 75 my people revolted and stopped working, could never get above 400 food. Really well done compo, keep it up!

Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:25am

Does not fit the theme but it's impressive. Well done.

ilo says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:13am

You've achieved a lot of depth given the time, and the concept has potential to be developed further.

I would have liked there to be sliders or something so you could set the rate of workers gathering wood/stone/food instead of having to frequently change what everyone was gathering. There would be less micromanagement that way.

naughtyloose says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Thank you everyone for the awesome feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]