December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bustin' Out

by Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A stealth game in which you play a convicted criminal who is tired of prison life and decides to break free. Luckily, all the guards have the kind of AI that you can program in the 10/12 hours you have free over the weekend.

- Includes Goats

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Fun3.04
#288Graphics3.13
#298Overall3.12
#391Innovation2.80
#490Humor2.17
#515Theme2.88
#644Mood2.19
#817Coolness42%

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Pretty neat graphics. And yea, the AI is a bit wonky at times, but that's fine. Good job!

ThomasRyder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Pretty fun. Great graphics. Kinda hard.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:26pm

Neat little game, fun to play and complete. The AI was rather weird, but the rest of the gameplay was fine. Graphics worked well too. Overall, awesome work for the time.

~Spaceoff

Drabiter says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:43am

Nice little game!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Is pushing the guards upwards a game mechanic? Nice if so.

Besides that you aren't really a villain.

Jack says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:23pm

@Mista Koo yeah it is, you need it to solve the final level :P and I realised that near the deadline so I added a bit of outtro text that made you seem more like the bad guy

Encircle says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Fun game, but why are there sacks of gold in prison? o.O

stigmawall says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Kinda hard... how i like games. :)
Creative and fun.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Am I the villain? What if I was wrongfully accused?

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:59pm

I really like that jum-on-the-policeman-head mechanic, it feels innovative :)

Jack says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:54pm

@Encircle because the guards run a money-laundering operation out of the prison laundry

infernet89 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:43pm

I tryed to reach the goat but i can't :(
Apart this, nice work!

aeveis says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:20pm

I liked the sunlight, I was unsure of the AI so I thought maybe I had to stay in the shadows. I used the bouncing on top more than the hitting from the bottom, mostly because the top was the only safe spot. Had a pretty hard time on the 3 or 4th level (the one with the guard on the 2nd level), though I could better at it. I also tried getting the goat but once all the guards see me it's pretty much all over for me.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

Fun, but very tough! It would be nice if you could do something to neutralize the banker/guards other than jump on their heads. They need to stay down just a little longer. Add sound effects for a mood enhancer.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I love the game mechanic of stacking guards and bouncing them upwards!
You should've explored this more :D

Gungnir says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice but quite tough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]