December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Anta Gogen

by Vic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Anta Gogen you play a general that has run out of conventional weaponry.

As a last resort you use the only material your country has in vast supply. Toxic waste that turns human to zombie, and cows!

Basic controls are:
Left Mouse Click: Throw Bomb
Buttons on the left: Switch between bomb type
Retry button: At the bottom

I worked until the last minute on it, so I did not have time to test everything or add all the sounds I wanted. But I guess that is part of LD ;). If you do find a bug, or want to get in touch:

e-mail: vlegerstee@tangrin.com
twitter: _Tangrin_

Cheers!

- Vic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#78Overall3.60
#91Graphics3.83
#119Fun3.40
#126Innovation3.46
#187Mood3.14
#189Theme3.60
#198Humor3.03
#421Audio2.22

Comments

Vic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28am

Leave a message with a link to your entry if you want me to review your game ;).

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Quite nice! Though it gets difficult rather fast. I enjoy chucking cows at my enemies, too. Just for fun's sake.

BTW, when people comment on your game, their name is a hyperlink straight to their own LD entry. No need to actually post links.

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32am

Cow tossing and zombies. What's not to like?

Great game. Interesting interaction between those two mechanics. :)

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32am

Great concept but at the 2nd level the game makes my pc buggy so couldnt finish the game.

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

Very nice game. The viewpoint moves slowly; Is it intentional?

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

Quite nice indeed, pretty well executed 3D game, quite pretty, quite challenging.

- I'm a fan of a main menu. Just saying :P
- The gameplay is good, though it would've been nice to have an advanced warning that those guns shoot your zombies at a certain range.
- Perhaps showing health of zombies in some way would be nice.

I really don't have much to whine about this game, it's well executed. Very nice~!

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52am

Good game! A little polish and it would be good to go! Also I was itching my fingers on the arrows to move the camera... if you can add input for that it would be a lot more confortable to play. =)

madpew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02am

Good idea, loved the "bomb"-interaction on this one. Too bad you didn't have enough time for more sfx and music.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03am

I enjoyed this I found it hard but great job :)

drakfyre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03am

Love the look and animations! A lot of personality for your zombies and humans in very few polygons! :)

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04am

Great work. like a more tactical (or puzzlier at least), less grindy version of Infectionator. Loved it (although hated the scroll and lack of minimap)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21am

Like the idea -- especially having to coral the zombies. Frustrating in practice, but with some refinement would work well. Zombie strategy FTW ;)

Vic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

Thanks for all the feedback! The game definitely could use some tweaks, but you know, 48 hours, only so much I could do ;).

Oh, and I did not know about infectionator, it looks fun! Going to give it a shot later today.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Mighty impressive! Loe the idea and the low-fi graphics. The green splash is awesome :)

Scrolling is a bit fiddly though. On startup I auto-scrolled to the top of the level, wondering what was going on.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

Really like the atmosphere and design. Pretty cool concept, nice job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

There is something.
Not ba =) I like game mechanics and animation. But I can't understand how to beat second post.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10am

I like the game concept and its nice to see some 3d graphics.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Great to play. At first I didn't read the isntructions and was wondering why my cow bombs didn't have any effect.

ratking says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Very nice entry, I had fun building my zombie army!
Only gripe for me are the controls, I prefer keyboard for camera movement, for more precision and less random movement.

wlad says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:48am

It was really fun playing it! Perhaps the third level was too large to play well with the slow scrolling. Writing some descriptive text on the floor is a quite efficient solution. But in the Win-version I missed the escape key behaviour, had to close the game it with ALT+F4.

drakfyre says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:19am

Would love it if you included your whole Unity project in the source, though that's not a stipulation for your entry obviously; I just like to see people's projects! :) (I share my own of course too)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]