December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mansion Massacre

by Bullseye8841 - Jam Entry


Over the course of two days we developed this title. It is more of an alpha, but it is quite ambitious and we had a lot of fun doing it!


Move: A,S,W,D
Pickup Item: Stand near and item and left-click on it
Use items: Click an item in your inventory while near a victim
Reset Game: Walk to the front door and click the Menu button


- The game WILL BE UPDATED, so please check back for improvements to gameplay and visuals
- If you get caught, refresh your web page. We'll be addressing that soon


Doug Wheeler (Art) & Dave Norris (Tech)

Downloads and Links




dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17am

I really like the idea and what you're going for, but i feel like the gameplay isnt all the way there yet: its hard to know what items will do what and when you'll get caught

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48am

Thanks for the comment dremelofdeath. Yeah, it was rather ambitious for a two day project, but we had a lot of fun doing it. However, we do intend to refine it until we meet our gameplay goals. So if you get the chance: check back later :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58am

Fun little game. I think the graphics and (especially) the animations are great, however I do agree that the controls feel a bit awkward. If you tightened that up a bit, it'd be like an awesome, more stealthy version of Hotline Miami, which is nothing short of a compliment, I assure you.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Thank you very much Thomas! We greatly appreciate your comment! Luckily, this is only an alpha, so we can certainly work on the controls in future updates.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Some good ideas in here, nice interaction system, needs more work.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:53pm

So it's like Clue: The Prequel: The Video Game. Good idea, but needs some work on the execution.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:10pm

incredibly glitchy when I try to use the gun, like I disappear

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Good start, but a bit buggy. Hard to understand the criteria for being caught. Could use some target indication system for visual guidance. Next version: Moving targets, more information and more rooms :)

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:28pm

The gameplay fell short in this game, and I feel like you could have added a lot more to it. I did like the art-style and animations. Graphics reminded me of Hotline Miami.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Dark Acre Jack: Thank you, and we agree about the work :)

Nolan C: You hit the nail on the head my friend!

moomoo112: It's actually an unresolved glitch that occurs when you use weapons on "alerted" enemies.

dj_pale: Yeah, there's actually an "investigation area" around a recent kill that you must escape before others arrive. Sadly, we couldn't get this to activate as required. However, we will be following up on the game with updates.

dev_redant: We thank you for your complements, but believe us when we say that there is much more too it. It's just not working correctly. lol

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:34am

Very confusing and buggy- I'm not really sure what I did when I was doing something.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:44am

too buggy for me to enjoy. i can't even tell if i'm killing my victims: half the time they just stand there and stare at me after the animation finishes. one time i killed the dude in the chair and he just stood next to the chair and didn't die. then i killed the guy in the bathroom, and the first dude entered an endless loop where he'd run for the door, then teleport back to where he started.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:03am

The gameplay needs to be more dynamic. But I liked the idea.

Floko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:04pm

kinda hard to understand,but fun idea =]

zazery says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:00am

Cool idea. For the longest time I couldn't figure out why I could kill one chef but not the other with the wire. Then I found it I was supposed to poison the food. I think if you add some animations that explain why a method doesn't work would make the game more interesting. For example I thought about why killing the right chef first wouldn't work since the other one would see it.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:04am

zazery: Thanks! It's actually an issue with the A.I. that we couldn't resolve in time. The A.I. was supposed to be capable of several actions that would have allowed you to experiment more with your items. Think a top-down Hitman if you will. However, we intend on pursuing this title with future updates.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:35am

The bugs made this one hard to understand: I thought I killed a guy, but he came alive to start coming for me when I killed somebody else, except he kept vanishing and reappearing in the same spot. The gun didn't behave the way I expected it to, so I got caught. Why do I need to stand so close to use the gun, instead of shooting across the room?

With a bit more bug fixing and visual feedback, this could have been nice and suspenseful.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]