December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion2600

by Muu? (lanoiadimuu) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in more or less 12 hours

If you are old enough*, you will know what Missile Command is about.
Someone (I never found out who) is trying to destroy you precious bases.
And you have to shot missiles at incoming missiles.
In this simple clone, you will play the attacking side: your goal is to destroy someone's (which we don't know who) bases.
You enemy will score point for every missile it destroys, make sure he gets the least possible score points.


Controls:
You control the top blue / red crosshair, either by horizontal mouse movement or by left and right arrows.

You are ready to fire when your crosshair is red
Press 1-6 to shot at bases from when your crosshair is.
(eg. 2 will shot the second base)

When your crosshair becomes triple, you can fire a missile which later splits in 3.
Press QWERTY to shot it.
If have a QWERTZ layout, mostly like a German keyboard, you can use Z instead of Y.

P - Pauses the game
ESCAPE - While in menus: Back. While in pause: Back to home screen.
ENTER - While in menus: Confirm.


Don't like Unity3D web player? You can find download links for Win/Mac/Linux apps at the bottom of Web entry page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#119Theme3.77
#237Overall3.23
#290Innovation3.03
#330Fun2.90
#375Audio2.39
#507Graphics2.57
#565Humor1.96
#584Mood2.35

Comments

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:07pm

like in the original game, the last city is well defended..

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

nice game, lowscores only work after first play, and i expected ESC to take my out of the level finished screen

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

D'oh, I completely goofed on it. There's a back button, but I coded it wrong: To get out level finished screen you have to press P.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Once you get the hang of it, it's quite fun - hard is hard.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Wow that player AI is really good. His only downfall is trying to defend cities that were already burned down. "Lowscores" is a pretty amusing idea as well.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12pm

@sclark39:
That's what made the easy AI easy. The hard one does not care about burned cities, making her harder to fool.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Very challenging and fun!

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27am

A little bit to random for my taste... It feels like simply pressing the numbers on your keyboard in random order and moving your mouse randomly will make you win the game. Or that is just me...

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Interesting, didn't manage to destroy the last city though

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:45pm

Last city on hard is very difficult to destroy! Fun game though!

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Awesome man, My first instinct in this compo was to redo a classic game as the enemy as well. Yours turned out much better though. Its pretty sweet!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Sooo, when on easy I could just mash 1 to 6 and sometimes q to win easily and on hard no matter what I do everything gets shot down immediately. Hm. Nice idea, proper visuals and sound for the setting. Would like to know if someone can play it on hard and win though.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Fun game! I played it a lot =)

wzl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Nice idea, but it seems there's little strategy to it, as spamming everything seemed to work best for me. Good implementation nontheless :)

minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#muu

Niavlys says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Good idea (I've had the same though ;) but I decided to do something else instead), and very well done! The AI is too perfect in my opinion (maybe it should have a certain probability of failing any shot). Right now I don't see any strategy or technique apart from mashing the 1-6 keys and moving the mouse randomly :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:52pm

This is great. Always wanted to play this in reverse. Thanks!

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Oh, i LOVE when someone invert the mechanic of a classic! And this is a very good execution, nice work!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really cool concept. I think the game needs to be more balanced.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]