December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

APATHY

by pbdiode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about apathy.

For some, it is a near-debilitating condition -- not having concern, excitment,
motivation, or passion can lead to a state of depression, which can be a very
serious illness.

In this game you take on the role of a manifestation (a goat) of Apathy. You can collect coins that represent actions that are apathetic or result from apathy (red coins), and coins that represent the opposite (gold coins).

Red coins increase XP, gold coins decrease XP.

It was made with Haxe + NME + HaxePunk, and is my first foray into the world of flash.


## Controls

The __LEFT__ and __A__ buttons move the goat left.

The __RIGHT__ and __D__ buttons move the goat right.

The __UP__ and __W__ buttons make the goat jump.

The __M__ button toggles the music on or off.

The __R__ button resets the game.

Press __ESC__ during the game to go back to the intro screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#155Humor3.15
#230Audio2.83
#332Mood2.84
#367Fun2.84
#430Innovation2.70
#489Graphics2.65
#505Overall2.74
#662Theme2.35

Comments

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Cool platformer. I liked that every "coin" you collect says something different. It doesn't really fit the theme, though

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Great work. Very cool feel. It was interesting the goat could push platforms as well, and I loved all the messages that kept popping up. Rated you highly on Humor/Mood.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

Nice idea, I chuckled at some of the positive/negative messages (especially at the latter ones, since some of them are so true) :)

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Nice twist on the platformer concept. Might want to either let the player know not to collect the yellow faces (I was collecting everything initially until I saw the yellow ones reduced xp and red ones increased it).

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14am

Ive just had this sitting on the menu screen for a while now, Had it in the background, and realised I was tapping my foot to a catchy tune - Nice.

Ok, time to play this.

haha, I won. (Just by standing, and doing nothing!)
I was hoping the world would push me along. That would be the ultimate Apathy Goat.

Nice game though - Maybe lower the volume of the SFX a bit, they're a tiny bit piercing.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

It was fun reading all the different messages.

CaptainIcy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51am

Interesting concept! I like the graphics and the gameplay. The generation of the level could use some work, though, as I got obviously stuck often and sometimes spawned in the middle of a cliff, haha. Still, great work. I like the little messages too. Would also like to see a post-compo version, if you think there's anything else you could put into it. ;)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Nice job :)

The game is simple, yet addictive. Procedural level generation adds points for replayability(even though, as some have already said, it could use some more work to avoid some impossible jumps)

The theme choice is an interesting one as well (Sadly, I can relate to some of the negative sentences).

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:02am

Sweet goat, but some jumps were a little bit impossible, (as they should be)...

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:03am

I like the metaphor, but the level is alittle too random.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:06am

Most fun I've had with the LD! Not the most innovative 'coding' wise, but a superb all-rounder. The humour was absolutely delightful and a lot of thought has clearly gone into it. Pushing the blocks is a nice feature in such a platformer. Visuals were gorgeous little things. And apathy is a perfect application of the theme, don't listen to those jealous people. Simple, but just excellent.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:00am

The goat is very cute :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:31am

Very nice having all those phrases, and the platform programming is remarkably crisp, I like it. Only major flaw I can think of is that it's a bit hard associating it with the main theme, I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be bad or good.

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:32am

Pretty interesting idea to make all blocks & platforms movable. However, I'm not sure about the villain theme. But the goat is definitely there :)

Matt Tuttle says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:45am

I kind of see where you're going with the theme although it was a bit confusing on how to win the game. The sayings were humorous and I couldn't help but smile while playing the game. Great job!

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:22am

loooL I liked the text alot :)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:48am

I really like the way you have to construct your own path into this random generated game. Music from the splash screen is epic.
The Xp system is a bit abstruse, some explanations about i could reinforce the theme.

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:10am

I'm not sure what's going on here, until i read some messages and it's clear, not sure about theme

Gjarble says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:53pm

I like the pushable blocks you use as obstructions- it's a very simple way to add a good chunk of depth to the gameplay. I doubt it was intentional to make the ground pushable, but it's funny either way (though it does make the game harder). Also, I disagree with the comments saying it doesn't fit the theme- I like that you used an abstract "villain". And, of course, the little captions really hit home (although I wish there was a way to read the captions when you collect a bunch of coins in quick succession- maybe it could be implemented as a multi-line text box that reads the few most recent captions or something like that).

The trouble with procedurally generated levels is that, unless you're careful, the game can generate some impossible scenarios. One I encountered a lot was jumping between pieces of land while being forced to push a block (that is, the block is low enough that the goat pushes it while standing on the ground, but it's too tall to jump over). It's hard to prevent that kind of stuff entirely. It also might be a good idea to include a different game over message for players who end the game with negative XP (about how you overcame your apathy or whatever).

If you plan on expanding this game for a post-compo version, one thing to think about might be how to make "apathy" manifest itself through the gameplay, instead of just through points and captions. Perhaps the more XP you get, the slower the goat moves? Or maybe the background becomes less colorful, or the music gets slower. Whatever you can think of.

One fun little bug/feature I found: hold down the 'R' key for a few seconds during play. The coins will stay in the same place while the land, blocks, and goat shift around them- it looks funny.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Nice game! too simple yet creative!

PaulSB says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Ha, nice! I relate to far too many of the apathetic notes... Not sure if being able to push the land was intended, guessing that was a bug but it worked nicely for the blocks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]