December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Treasure Defender

by Cosine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Treasure Defender is a tower-defense-based puzzle game, where precise and strategic placement of towers means the difference between success and failure. Features:

-8 Levels!

-An entire song!

-SFXR sounds!

-Custom level support (notepad)!

If you're brave enough to try and make your own levels, feel free to share them in the comments below!

NEW! Solutions to every level are available here: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/37624951/LD25/solutions.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Fun3.47
#169Audio3.00
#318Overall3.07
#481Graphics2.67
#486Innovation2.60
#632Mood2.23
#718Theme2.07
#990Coolness28%

Comments

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

A comment. (No seriously, will play game in a few!)

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Yay for jazzy intro theme :) Neat little tower defense like. I really like how you made the levels since you really have to think how to beat them. One thing is disliked was the placing of the towers. It would be easier if you could see the radius before actually placing them. One thing that is really misssing is the theme, though :(

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

This is really fun. Great concept for a puzzle game with the limited beam things. :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:47pm

STILL TRYING TO BEAT LEVEL 7 AFTER 30 MINS

fr_automatik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Yay, I beat all the levels!
The idea was great, the execution, well done .
It would be better with a "real" level editor, better heroes sprite, and in-game music .

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I. Love. This. Game.

Always been a fan of tower defenses and this one just really did it for me. I would demand that you take this further but I kinda of think that the simplicity really makes this as awesome as I think it is.

Unfortunately it doesn't really tie into the theme (the "heroes" don't look much like heroes and their names are never shown in-game (that I saw :O)). But still...you even had a level editor!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Still can't complete the last two levels... I'll try again when I'm less tired. Absolutely loved it - great idea, great puzzles, awesome intro music.

Cosine says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21am

I'll be sure to implement a hint system into a later version of the game. I'll also put up the solutions for every level once I finish studying for finals.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:55am

Really nice little game! Not played anything like this before. Could do with some more work on the visuals, not that they're not clean but actually having hero characters and seige towers might be nice :)

Cosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Good news, everyone! Here's the solution to every level in the game.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/37624951/LD25/solutions.html

rubna says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Great game! Seriously, one of the best I've rated!

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:43am

Enjoyable to play once I figured out how to pick up the turrets. After that my only feeling was that I really would have loved to see the outline of the paths that the objects traversed so I could plan better.

Cosine says ...
Jan 10, 2013 @ 10:43pm

If you hover your mouse over a hero in the upper left corner, you can see their paths.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]