Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the hero - Philip Wagner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first finished ludum dare. I started the last thre or so but never got something done. So this is in itself great.

Play with arrow keys and space for action.

To those wondering whats up with the glitches, those are intentionally. And I think i followed the theme pretty well, just play through it, it isn't long. Hopefully then it will be clear, otherwise I should have polished it a little bit more, but the time was short. I won't talk more about it, otherwise the whole experience gets spoiled and thats nothing I want to do.

The game is build with impact.js. Sound and music is from bfxr. And graphics from photoshop.

So, have fun!

View Philip Wagner's journal. | View all entries by Philip Wagner

Ratings

Coolness89%
#239Graphics3.26
#245Mood3.00
#332Theme3.28
#422Overall2.87
#430Audio2.20
#471Humor2.21
#524Fun2.51
#530Innovation2.51

Comments

singpolyma says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Didn't even try on the theme, and pretty simple, but fun. Not sure if this is intentional or common, but I got weird little visual artifacts (squares) as I went on.

Philip Wagner says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:17pm

I tried, but it's a little bit subtle. And those glitches are intentionally

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

I dig the glitchiness -- reminds me of ROM CHECK FAIL.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54am

The theme is here, but the fake glitches are a little bit strange !

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Some issues with sprites, a game a little bit short, i think you can improve it, i'll play it with joy.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Loved the glitches and how things get shifted around towards the end. Great setup for the ending as well. Wish it was a little bit longer.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:54am

I liked the transition from beginning to end - could have done with a bit more though

Sos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:42am

I love how you actually tricked people with the glitches! I always struggle to make such things realistic, awesome!

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:12am

Lovely looking game (apart from the glitches). The combat feels nice enough and I'm liking the minimalist sound approach.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:12pm

I know that they're intentionally, but still i find myself confused about the last glitch( I suppose it's the last one as it appeared nothing after 5 minutes with me smashing random buttons on the keyboard). Anyhow I think the way of putting in glitches this way is kind of interesting!

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Good: good idea! Fun with the glitches and stuff. Also liked when the "knights" started running away =)
Improve: Audio perhaps? =)

vids says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Graphics are great and I like your take on the theme. Kinda reminds me of my entry, especially the whole king/queen setup.

rvmook says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Sound was a bit harsh and like others already said the game felt short. But hey we only got 48 hours so it worked out. I like the art (nice job on the sky) and I like the idea of the glitch/switch thing.

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Great idea but insufficiently tapped, surely because of lack of time. Nice game anyway.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Not bad technically, but out the theme I think

zatyka says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:01am

Unfortunately there wasn't a whole lot of depth, but I really liked how you used the theme.

cardboard says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:56am

Really cool game, but really short. I like the glitches and how the knights start running towards the end.

Norgg says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Nice and clear little story, would have been nice if doing a pascifist run was recognised in some way.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Nice, I liked it.

And I 'got' the glitches ;-)

rylgh says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Great job, short sweet and effective. Cool glitches. Funny how some people didn't think you addressed the theme, I thought it was one of the best uses of the theme I've seen.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Wow, a lot of people are really just not getting your awesome link to the theme AT ALL. If you play this and think it's just 'glitching' then maybe you need to slow down and really think about what's going on. The dude thinks he's the hero but the player slowly starts to view beyond the character's version of the world and starts to see reality for what it really is... a guy slaying innocent creatures in a happy little valley and not some hero slaying evil knights. Great job on the theme, and NIIIIICE job on the visual effects. It's rather short and not very challenging as a 'game', but it is a very thought provoking experience. Good work!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Very original, short and sweet

h.attila says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:24pm

A bit too short, and the sound effects could be improved.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Nice twist at the end.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:30pm

The twist at the princess evoked a rye smile. If you continue to develop, I wasn't always clear where I needed to stand to swing the sword and wanted to do something more than swing a sword.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Nice graphics, good use of the theme.
the glitches were pretty cool

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Didn't get it. Or did I? Didn't got me, then .. sorry. Nice graphics, though.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:49pm

The game looks nice. Like everyone else, I'm not a big fan of the glitches, plus the collisions were the main reason I died, so it was a bit frustrating. Other than that, good job.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:08am

Im impressed how many people developped games with html5 and js :) Nice try i find, its ashame for the bugs !

dragonfi says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:12pm

It is fun to see how we interpreted the theme in a similar, yet different manner, including the title. (Althoug, to be honest, your game is better executed in my opinion.)

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I think this worked really well, I think the ending was a bit in-your-face, pointing out that I wasn't a hero because I killed the princess. I think the fleeing knights did a much better job to illustrate the point.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]