December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lunch Hunter

by zairon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a kid with a magnifying glass, trying to keep bugs from stealing your lunch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#286Humor2.75
#290Innovation3.03
#330Fun2.90
#351Audio2.46
#387Overall2.94
#404Graphics2.83
#485Mood2.57
#522Theme2.84

Comments

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25pm

I have an issue with lanching your game, while 'Downloading packages' (win7 64bit on Firefox).

zairon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

Sorry about that...I messed up with the jar on the site. It should work now.

7Soul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Those are the most resilient ants I've ever seen!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:21pm

The particle system is awesome. Good work!

PaulSB says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Nice entry! But I didn't feel villainous, I'm protecting my lunch! Heh. Burning effect was quite nice. Yeah, good job.

cdata says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:26am

Good job making a game with actual AI :) I also thought the particle effects were pretty cool. I was able to cheese ball the game when I had only one item of food left, because all of the ants started to move towards one point and killing them en mass became trivial.

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:34am

Yeah, I had a couple of strategies for the last item of food that all have to do with new units. For example, I wanted to add a unit that can drop water to put out ants (a firefly, get it) and units that can make illusions of the lunch items so you are not sure which one is real without some detective work. I also intended to modify the AI to allow more random pathing to the targets, but time ran out for both.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:23am

Haha. Fun game. I definitely felt villainous when lighting the ants on fire, even if I was protecting my lunch. A bit hard to see the ants sometimes when they picked up the sandwich though, but not too hard to light them up. Upgrades for the magnifying glass would have been awesome.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:32am

Quick and simple game. I like how you incorporated the them. How do the ants get that big ass sandwich down there? XD

dekart says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:08am

Perfectly made! I felt myself a true villain ;( Poor bugs...

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Leave My Food alone!!! very funny and nice game!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Well done. Nice concept - good graphics, fx and audio. I liked the bigger ants appearing.

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I have the super fire upgrade in the code! I didn't get a chance to make the powerup drops. I also wanted to add other weapons, like a rock obstacle that the bugs would have to bypass until a destroyer unit demolished it.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Pretty cool entry. The "ah", "ouch" sounds of the ants were cool, but the other sounds, not so much :-)

Maybe you could have some way to "win" the level (time limit?) and be moved to a harder next level?

Thanks for the game!

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:48pm

I was going for a space invaders-type old school arcade-y feel, and having distinct waves was my intent. It comes out being kind of relentless though, which in retrospect I kind of like.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Doesn't feel villainous at all, especially since I hate ants :P
If you replaced the food by something meaningless to the player and made him kill them for fun it would've been way better.

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:23pm

@Mista Koo "I think I was trying to suggest something about the duality of man, sir."

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Fun! Those poor ants..

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:04pm

O_O It got crazy after a bit. Just imagining some kid sitting at a picnic and burning hoards of enormous ants shoving his sandwich down a hole makes me laugh inside. Didn't really conform to the theme though.

michax says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Cannot load web version page. Will try later.

zairon says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Hm, it came up for me, but that doesn't mean much. It is a Java applet, if you don't have it installed.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:56am

Fits the theme well. Nicely done. :) Good sfx and gfx. Gameplay is solid too. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:14am

I used the same strategy as someone else here, reduce my lunch to 1 grape then the game turns into mouse-button-holder-pro. The volume of ants increased rather rapidly, I wonder why they so eagerly want that grape?

Great visuals. Appropriate sounds, though because of the sheer volume of ants they get repetitive quickly.

Also, my prejudice about Java was once again confirmed when the light weight game library was downloading packages for about 5 mins :) Download speed was low, dunno why.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]