December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Real Eyes

by colincapurso - Jam Entry

Important: I messed up. I saved over the original LD entry. When voting, please disregard the video component as it was added after the jam.

Rid the world of the cuteness that killed your friend.
Puzzle platformer with crate throwing action.

Arrow Keys, WAD, Gamepad to Move
Space = Action


EDIT:

There is a built-in level editor which can be accessed from
the menu by pressing ESC.

Loading, Saving will create a file in your install directory.

I only made 1 level (0.xml), which needs to be copied into the game's install folder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#990Coolness28%

Comments

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10am

Tried to download the game 4 times, but I get zero sized archive.

HulkHandsome says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38am

Pretty sweet graphics! I liked throwing crates around and watching the critters explode in a mess.

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

I can confirm that I cannot download the game.

colincapurso says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

@dark_hunter @Chthu I'll re-upload it somewhere else later today when I get home and see if that makes a difference.

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35am

I can download the zip, but it's corrupt.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17am

The zip is corrupt, so I can't play the game.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:00am

Yup, archive corrupted. Looked like an interesting game too.

colincapurso says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:08am

I think I fixed it, try downloading now.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:51am

i downloaded and it installed and it worked, but the game is completely broken. there's only one small platform and i fall infinitely no matter what direction i go in. i think you should try uploading another build because it looks like there's more?

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:10pm

It's a good start, i really think you should add more levels !

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:27am

Nice graphics. Needs more levels!

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Unfortunately you didn't have much to play, but what you had looked like a solid start. I think perhaps you should have made more levels before looking into making graphics though.

colincapurso says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:04pm

@Maple Only 2 hours went into graphics. I re-wrote all the code on the second day and just ran out of time before I could do any levels.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:17am

Download is fixed now...but there's an installer :( Still, that was the most 'awww' intro I've seen. I love the animation, esp. the twirl. +10 to cuteness! Would have been nice to see more levels, I thought it was a glitch when it ran the intro again.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:31am

As everyone else has said the graphics and intro are incredibly good just wish there was more content to play.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:40am

@colincapurso: Is it possible to get a Mac/Web build?

colincapurso says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:21am

@youdonotexist I can try an port it using Mono but that'll take about a week.

Norgg says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:51am

Just seems to get stuck on the splash screen for me currently (the one in the main screenshot), no buttons seem to start the game.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:42am

Did enjoy this a damn lot! Loved the presentation, just needs a bit more, well, more :D.

farmergnome says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:49am

I couldn't play this one, it said it was missing components :(

aeveis says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:43pm

I tried the windows and post-compo version, but after the nice opening sequence I seem to be stuck at the title screen. I was thinking maybe space or enter or mouse click but it stays stuck at the screen. I also tried copying over the xml.deploy (and renamed it to .xml) to the installer folder but that doesn't seem to change anything either. I have a Windows 7 Professional 64-bit computer.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:18pm

I can't run this. Missing some dll.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:31pm

I'd really like to play this, but installing is a puzzle in itself :P

104mb? Installer? + manual file-moving? This is really difficult. Also it says I need some sort of XNA-file, which I don't know would be included in a recent XNA-package or not. A download-link (in the top, right next to the others) would be useful :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:22pm

I'd really prefer to not have to use an installer.

radmars says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:18am

Yeah I get stuck at the title screen too :/ Amazing intro though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]