December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nefertiti

by SunnyCode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Nefertiti a mutated spider from auter space!! Get to Nasa, grab the next shuttle to outer space and maybe eat some humans in the way. Beware some humans are so unhealthy that they'll make you sick!


known bugs:
-none

Goats added!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Theme3.48
#244Graphics3.25
#258Audio2.74
#306Mood2.90
#363Humor2.53
#460Innovation2.65
#483Overall2.78
#539Fun2.48
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Deril says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

Interesting idea. I felt a bit deprived of control... and uncomfortable to judge best actions in situation.
I still think idea could go somewhere interesting.
Nice work.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

haha, you could get pretty far by just wading through the masses.

known bugs:this huge spider?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Awesome style. Loved your graphics. Fun, light, addictive. Really, one of the best ones i've rated.

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Very nice polish, but I really, really can't tell the difference between red and green men, let alone dodge them.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Very nice art. Sound effects quite annoying but music sounds really good.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

We need more games with rhyming instructions! More! :D

Amusing, but too easy - if you're lucky, holding down right is enough to win the game.

(One slight bug: jumping on top of red people or green people seems to allow you to repeatedly lose/gain life without them actually disappearing, resulting in almost instant game over/full health. Not sure exactly what's causing that...)

AyCe says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Perhaps you could make a non-install version? Many people (including me) usually don't like to install every game they tets, so they skip those (but since this is my secondly rated game, I made an exception ;-). Nice idea. At first I thought: Just keep walking? But that quickly proved unsuccessful. However, I finished it with both characters. Nice city graphics, but no animation -> :(
Cool audio! Somehow, I also felt a bit like the spider, since those people were SO SMALL, and looked all the same ^^

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14pm

The installation is a mayor setback of XNA, i've promised myself to start coding withought XNA on january... so this should be the last one XD

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Just press the right arrow and finish the game. Humans are too little, so it is impossible to select which to eat or not. Graphics are stylish and atnospheric, but sounds are annoying.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

both the amount of people and if they harm you or heal you is randomized... so it was really hard to make the game tough without making it immposible

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Interesting, especially the graphics and nice music!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42pm

I liked it - music was good. I liked the art style. The goat felt a bit crow-barred in but good fun. Some variation would have added something to the level but a great job :)

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:29pm

My nightmares have become real :|

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:11pm

It's actually kind of interesting that the main character is so big and the people are so small; It seems tempting as a player (especially as a long time gamer) to try and eat every little green human while avoiding every little red one, but in this case, it actually seems more advantageous to simply eyeball whether or not a group of people are constituted primarily of greens and attack those groups, and otherwise move on and jump over groups of humans that contain more bad than good.

There is kind of a funny bug wherein if you "superjump", then immediately turn left, you will superjump to the left and all the people on the screen will slide to the left side of the screen. It isn't gamebreaking, but it was kind of entertaining to think contextualize the bug as if I'd jumped so fast, I'd create a gust of wind that pulled in all the bystanders, haha.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:04pm

sorry but i can't repeat that bug... so i can't really fix it...

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:54am

I don't know why you got this idea, but making an installer is definitely not necessary to distribute XNA games.
I've made a few XNA games already and I never had to use installers, XNA and ClickOnce are completely unrelated technologies.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:55am

yes, but ive seen a lot of XNA games that wothout installers didnt work, publishing your XNA game is, from my point of view, the only way to have a XNA game that everyone can play

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Nice idea. And nice graphics. Green and red people where too small and too close to each other to make some sense of control.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Not a fan of installers.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:17pm

No one is...

fishbrain says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Nice graphics, had fun... expanding upon this could be fun.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:24am

Pretty cool art, would be awesome to have animations in that style. I ended up just pressing right the entire time and got very very far before I see my health drop low. Kinda hard to dodge those little red guys.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]