December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Video Games Cause Mass Shootings

by adnzzzzZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everything seems to be going wrong.
You can only enjoy life for a bit whenever you're playing VIDEO GAMES.

What will you do?

note: whenever there's a mass shooting people quickly look for reasons why and probably the most common ones are: the killer is/was insane or video games. Very rarely there's an open discussion on what might have led someone to do such a terrible thing (specially when there's children involved, as was the case with the latest shooting). After all, how could we empathize with someone so despicable? So I decided that this game should talk about that. Maybe you'll find that the content is depressive or creepy...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#143Mood3.24
#154Theme3.69
#356Graphics2.97
#465Overall2.80
#486Audio2.03
#504Innovation2.57
#640Humor1.75
#690Fun2.00

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03am

Felt a bit sick on the first level (due to the theme, good use btw). Problem, got stuck in the 2nd level. Maybe I didn't figure out what to do?

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13am

The gun has a big recoil, so you can use that to give you an impulse to jump higher.

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32am

Very depressing game.

It crashed on me when I got hit by the big gray block I was trying to avoid.

http://leafo.net/shotsnb/2012-12-16_22-31-50.png

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

This was really good. Good Story.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Nice graphics and +1 for an in game menu system. However, I couldn't jump high enough.

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Quite depresing... didn't kill my familly at the end... sorry

SFX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45am

You took the theme to heart, and I like that.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58am

Wow. I feel absolutely horrible...
But great job nonetheless!
Also, I fixed all the bugs in my game, so if you want to play it again, here it is: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18930

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

I enjoyed that recoil-jumping thing mechanic, and theme was taken care of very well. But crashed (or lagged very heavily) after talking to girlfriend, right after that next spawn. Overall very nice game.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Great idea, the story was depressing, but the overall mood of the game was really good.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:57am

I want to try this out, but I can't run it. I seem to be missing an essential file?

-------
Error:
main.lua:18: Cannot create canvas: Not supported by your OpenGL implementation.

Traceback
[C]:in function 'newCanvas'
main.lua:18: in function 'load'
main.lua:108: in function <main.lua:104>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:18am

@hissssssssss:
Your graphics card apparently doesn't support a feature that I'm using... I'll upload a fixed version in some hours that doesn't use it.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:49am

@hissssssssss:
If you happen to read this before I get to upload it, then try updating your graphics card to the latest drivers and see if it works.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18pm

It was good ! In the end (i think it was the end) i didn't know what was left to kill, but nice job !

maiev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:15pm

After finishing the game I actually felt pretty bad but that really shows how the mood was well done. The recoil to finite jump is a cool idea but sometimes it was mechanically hard to do. The graphics fit the mood better than any detailed sprite art could ever do. The ending instruction is confusing.

On another note, do i know you?

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:55pm

I like your idea of switching between the videogame world and the real world but I think the topic deserves more reverence then to attempt in a 48 competition. Aside from the story I found the gameplay too repetitive and lacking overall depth. I also thought the theme of you killing children unable to fight back in sub-videogame was unnecessary and confusing what I think your intended goal was with your entry. If you had the enemies in the sub-video game fight back it would have been more fun and I think gain depth. Maybe the sub-videogame is so hard that the player dies and feels like crap when they return to the real world. Also, there are superfluous game mechanics such as having a double jump plus you can use your bullets to propel you.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Also got stuck second level. I spawn on bottom. Nothing to shoot, no way to escape. Maybe a bug ?!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:18am

@KilledByAPixel: Your comment was honestly the best feedback I've gotten so far, thanks a lot for writing it.

JaJ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Interesting. It's really unpleasant to play, but I'm not sure if it communicates what you want it to. All I thought while playing was that this game made me understand people who do these things even less. It is probably because you kill innocent children from the first level, so you have an aversion to killing from the very first second?

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:39am

@JaJ: yeah, as pointed out by KilledByAPixel having children inside the games made it more confusing to get the message across.

caranha says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Hmm. The game elements were interesting. You got some solid platforming in there. In the last level, when you ask the player to press space, the game just closes. This may be intended, but it feels like a bug. Maybe do this a bit differently? Go back to the title screen instead?

As for the message, while I get what you want to say, I think the message might not be coming across very well in the game as it current stands. It is good for reflection, but everything has a feel of inevitability to it, that it might make it difficult to draw any conclusions unless you come to the game already holding an opinion.

Thanks for the game, and keep up the good job!

feili says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:33pm

maybe it's not what you intended to say but it strongly spread the idea that video games turn you into a violent psychopath and that is something unavoidable.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Had a poor frame rate, but my computer's pretty old.

_estuardolh says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:30pm

I like the background haha :B
good job

Falkreon says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:55pm

There's still a showstopper in there - level3.png won't load, and it crashes the game off. The graphics, while being simple, turn out to be very expressive, and this attacks the theme really effectively. I had to read through the comments to figure out the simple fact that the second level has increased gun recoil. Maybe a powerup would help cue the user to what's going on. Didn't finish the game due to the showstopper on failing level 3. Please fix this!

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

Couldn't get out of the beginning of "No child left behind". I appreciate what you were trying to do with the theme and the topic you wanted to explore, but I felt it was heavy handed and a downer to play. If I could have gotten past the point I made it to, maybe there would have been more of a point to it which could have redeemed things for me. As it is I did enjoy the graphics, although all those rotating squares seem to affect framerate after a while.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]