Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

THE BUTCHER - pythong - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the butcher.

It's sad, but you have to kill all those innocent chicken.
You have to. Someone has to do it, so that people don't have to kill the chicken themselves.
Which makes you a killer.
You are a bad person.
Because you kill innocent chicken...

Use your mouse to drag a line across the screen, and you will cut anything that is marked. But don't cut the vegetables! Because they don't BLEED...

-----------------------------

hehehe, that aside, background of this game is that I like to annoy some of my friends who are vegetarians :D. People who eat meat are bad, but can you kill a digital chicken? Even if it looks so stupid? I allow it!

*PS* : I'm having trouble uploading the source code on my google site, no idea why, and I will try again tomorrow. For now, it's a sendspace link. Bear with it please :/

View pythong's journal. | View all entries by pythong

Ratings

Coolness69%
#110Humor3.35
#234Fun3.11
#245Audio2.78
#283Graphics3.14
#324Overall3.06
#386Mood2.74
#490Theme2.92
#693Innovation2.09

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:51pm

It's too easy for too long at the beginning, so you don't want to retry and it's really annoying cause else it would be much more fun since the gameplay is fun.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:51pm

What a fun game. I know it's not new and all. But you did a very good job with the graphics and the overall mood. Fun to play, and ... gaaah those vegetables and fruit.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Nice fruit ninja style game, it starts a bit slow but after killing a few dozen chicken it becomes fun.

I like how you cut the chicken up exactly where you slice - nice touch :-)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Poor little chickens. You villain! My only gripe is that the game is a bit unresponsive and your previous line doesn't vanish until you make a new one.

Fun little game.

Milo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59pm

This is impressively polished. I would have liked more variation in the challenges of the game though.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Very cool. Lots of fun. I agree with another poster that fading the cut line out would improve things, also the balancing of the chickens and vegies.
As a suggestion, maybe put in a Revengeance style multi-cut bonus?

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:18pm

As others have said the difficulty ramps up too slowly at the start, but it is really fun. The slicing works well and it's quite satisfying!

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Sweet :) As said by Anna it takes to long to get difficult. The lines not disappearing didn't really bother me. Best score 1110 :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Score 1090. The difficulty could perhaps ramp up a bit faster, but it was very well done game, nice job!

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Nice game, but I feel like you should limit the lenght :)

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:19am

I enjoyed the audio and cutting effect. The fact that all objects had the same path meant that for most of the game I had my mouse over the exact same spot.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51pm

you made fruit ninja evil! ... hahah I felt so evil killing chickens! anyway this would be good on mobile!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Haha, I like it! And it definitely arouses villainy urges: I wanted to slash the dead chicken against just because I could! (Alas, I couldn't. Sadly.)

I loved the moment the first fruit came in and the game reminded me that this is NOT Fruit Ninja by awarding me an "X". I don't know if that was intended to be so funny, but it seriously cracked me up.

The graphics are cute and work well.

The sound fx is cool. The music is nothing outstanding, but it blends good into the background.

All in all: Well done, thanks for a few minutes of fun!

iandioch says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Haha, liked it. Impressed at the clean cutting. The only improvement I can think of is getting extra points for a clean head-chop.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Chicken ninja! I think that the flow at the beginning is a little bit bad: Too slow for me. Anyway very good work. :-D

Freakill says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:11am

Funny entry! Really nice adapted fruit ninja mechanics to the theme ;) The beginning is too slow maye, and sometimes I had to wait a lot until another chicken appeared. But it is funny despite these little flaws. Maybe just because is the trend, but a little bit of gore would have been welcome hehehe somee blood around and guts! :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Its a neat spin on an old game. way to go!

Patacorow says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Very nice!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice that you can cut them even vertically. I think this is an obvious candidate for iOS porting :D

I am vegetarian and I approve of this game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]