December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Wheelie Good Time

by df458 - Jam Entry

You are a wheely wheely bad dude. You'd like to go destroy the city, but your doctor spoke to you, telling you that need exercise. That's when you got a cunning plan(because that's how you roll) to destroy and exercise at the same time! What could go wrong?

Controls: A/D: move left/right
W: jump
Left Click: shoot

Bounce on buildings to rack up points! After all, just rolling into them is no fun.

Who to blame for this:
Design: Df458/Peter
Programming: Df458
Graphics: Df458
Music: Peter
Sound Effects: Peter/Df458
QA: Peter/Df458

Font: Press Start 2p
(http://www.fontspace.com/codeman38/press-start-2p)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1081Coolness20%

Comments

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15am

Had fun playing this game. Liked the music and villain sounds!

TechnoBulldog says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:03pm

It took me a few tries to figure out exactly what was going on, but I thought this was really cool. It was fun to play, had great sounds, decent graphics, and it had a hilarious name and concept!

vrld says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Very addicting and fun game with superb audio. However it's a bit hard to coordinate the inputs - increasing the rockets hit-box size probably would add value to the experience.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:29am

Loved it! Really liked the kind of combination of Missile Command and just, mowing down everything in my path!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:01pm

I find that on miserable days when I can't go for my walk and instead have to use torture...er..exercise machines I can sympathize with this game's villain. The music seemed to fit the theme of the game well. Found the missiles a bit too challenging. I would slow them down initially and have them speed up as the player gets further along.

iandioch says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:18pm

I liked it! That running animation was great :D And the music was nice.

sPe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Had few issues with responsiveness of controls. Really like the humorous game idea and accessible but somehow challenging gameplay.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:34am

Pretty fun! I would have put in a quick splash detailing the controls & how the jumps increased the bonus, but it was all fairly intuitive. Nice work.

sauronz says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Really funny and creative game! I enjoy playing it! The wheel is a really great idea! I had no problem with the controls once i discovered them xD (if you could put in future a box explaining the controls I'd appreciate :)) Love the music and the soundsfx. That's indeed a great villain! Hope to see more games from you :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]