December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

We Drive Unto The Fortress

by SmallDeadGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Built on Windows using MonoGame. You drive a tank, and shoot stuff. All details should be explained in the game.

On Linux requires mono, on Windows I don't think it requires anything but maybe .NET 4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#154Fun3.30
#182Audio2.97
#217Overall3.27
#355Innovation2.90
#361Mood2.78
#481Graphics2.67
#582Humor1.94
#705Theme2.13

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Great game! It did took me a while to figure out that holding the space key would make it aim; I was wondering why I could only shoot like 2 spaces ahead :P but after that I enjoyed it much more (obviously!), good fun :)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Lol, I did think about changing the tutorial a bit and it would have been easy. Most people seem to fail a max of once though, at least my IRL friends after I laugh at them

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Great concept. More interesting than chess! I imagine it would be good fun with a friend.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Yay a strategy game :D Great Music btw ;) The shooting mechanism was not clear at the beginning.

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:06pm

It's hard to shoot properly but after some practice it's a nice game.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

A turn-based tank game. Hum, no my cup of tea but it works well. Had to come to this page to figure out was was going on with the firing controls!

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14pm

I really enjoyed this. I had to actually employ some simple tactics in order to beat the final level. Although when I did beat the final level it just took me back to the menu, there was no win screen. I didn't feel like much of a villain either.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

This is pretty cool! I think this game would be worth expanding upon, a bigger game with these mechanics would be awesome!

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

A neat little puzzle game (that could have done with a little more explanation, given how important it is to recognise how the turn order works). Not intrinsically villainous, but the most fun game I've judged so far (in particular, the difficulty seemed pitched just right). Well done!

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

The AI is impressive and the music is good.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Thanks for all the nice comments. The little complaints like the tutorial and no decent victory bit were simply due to lack of time. I think I invested too long in a menu system which I didn't fully utilise ;(

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Really fun! Would be great if you could get more units other than tanks, and more scenery, to make it more strategic

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

That was challenging, I sucked... but it was fun, so nicely done :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Very enjoyable! A simple yet strategic game with a tiny bit of quick-time event thrown in too :)

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

The controls were hard to grasp / learn at first, but overall I like the game. :)

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39am

Oh! The spacebar thing helped me a lot too. I died once because I kept aiming too far. :)

It's like a turn based Combat!

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41am

Well done! Reminds me of "Combat". Aiming did take practice, but that's to be expected in any game.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39am

Nice game, but the last level is just too tough on me. Takes forever and if you miss once it throws the whole next 30 turns. I don't think aiming adds anything to this game, especially since the CPU never misses. I could see it being an interesting strategy game without the aiming. (: Definitely enjoy the story text throughout.

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:27am

i like it , Combat on atari 2600 meets chess

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Cool game :) it's really like chess with tanks. It took me a while to get used to the controls, though

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55pm

This game is pretty sweet, I love turn-based games like these. Definitely up my alley.

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Good game with a clever concept. Very cool to play. I would like to see more units and items, if you ever develop this game more please tell me :)

VDZ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Interesting combination of Turn Based Strategy games and Worms, making it really different from either. I liked how taking cover and general unit placement was strategically important.

However, like others I was confused at first (turn order and worms-like fire-and-retreat were never explained, for example), and I was disappointed with how easy the game was. Except for the last level you are always starting with an advantage against a dumb-as-bricks AI (does not retreat and unstrategically blows up blocks), so most of the game had no challenge and I completed the game without losing even once.

One thing I'm wondering though: why is there no simple Worms-like multiplayer? From your game setup it doesn't look hard to do, and it would've added a lot to the game.

(By the way, I think I found a bug (not 100% sure). In the final round, I once moved my tank in the last second of retreat time. Retreat time ended before I finished moving, so I think it got stuck halfway between tiles (it's hard to see where a tile starts and ends). AI shots seemed to deal no damage to it and I was unable to move back to the tile after moving the tank.)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

I would have added better multiplayer, with specific maps and more than 1 player and possibly different AI if I'd have had more time. The AI is pretty dumb in terms of strategy but for the 48 hours I'm pretty pleased with it, since most of it was me frantically hacking away at things in the car journey between my parent's houses.

That bug has been reported to me in irc, but I've only ever come across it once and no-one else has ever reported it so I haven't deemed it game-breaking enough to need a fix.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:20am

Great game. I love that you combined a tank game with a strategy game. the AI's were well made, but they seemed to want to get as close to you as possible, which nearly negated blocks, not to mention a better strategy would be to shoot from afar and evade. The aiming mechanic is fine as it's to be expected of a tank game, but another thing expected of a tank game it the ability to avoid hits. Perhaps allow tanks to use any remaining moves to avoid the shot? I didn't exactly feel like a villain though. Maybe this could be remedied with different music? Also on lvl 2 "winters were harse," Did you mean harsh?

~AlucardX60

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13am

AIs getting very close was due to lack of time (and skill) on my part, and I found it made thinking of strategy to be more than just shoot then hide. I couldn't really nail the villain theme, since my idea was originally mostly planned for a few other themes then I tried to fit it around this one with the story. And yes, I did mean "harsh". I can't believe I never noticed that mistake

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Hey there. Sorry for taking so long to review this. :( Been working late the past two days.

Your game is really well-rounded and complete. The lack of a good tutorial at the beginning caused me to stop wanting to play rather quickly. It wasn't until I had read the comments that I saw the stuff about firing; not having that info in the game is the one thing that I would say was a serious problem. In a tactical game, you need to know how to use your tools.

cardboard says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:44am

Pretty sweet game! Missing a shot pretty much ruins your chances of winning the last level, but I ended up beating. Good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]