December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goat sacrifice 2012 (unfinished)

by Raptor85 - Jam Entry

Was going to be an "incredible machine" clone except each stage you're trying to figure out how to sacrifice the goat, but only ended up having 2-3 hours to work on it sunday night so it's barely started, much less finished, so all it really is right now is a rough physics sim with a "goat" that gibs when the "knife" hits it.

There's nothing to really play so i didn't bother with cross compiling, as with all my stuff from past few LD's made with my "aether" game engine.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1844752097/aether-game-engine-open-source-linux-android-windo

I wish i could submit my ld25 warmup entry for my main compo instead, as a matter of fact i'd rather get feedback on that one than this crap O_x http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25-warmup/?action=preview&uid=7131

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%

Comments

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05am

It doesn't launch for me, as soon as I run it it creates a "@@��@8 (invalid encoding)" file and crashes.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50pm

I didn't pack a launcher with it like i normally do, so if you don't have all the library dependencies installed locally (you wont unless you installed them from one of my other games) you have to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH to "./:$PATH" before running so it can use the packaged libs.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Can't play linux games

vrld says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:06pm

Cannot (but would like to play), because of a missing libBox2D.so.2.1.0.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:31am

I hope you come back to this one day.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:59am

No Linux here, soz.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:28am

Can't play this sadly, even on LinuxEMU :(.

pighead10 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:44am

No linux =/

schnerble says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:31pm

The first error was the missing libBox2D.so.2.1.0 - but I got around that with an "ln -s libBox2D.so libBox2D.so.2.1.0" along with LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Unfortunately another error came up next:

X Error of failed request: BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 154 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 34 ()
Serial number of failed request: 133
Current serial number in output stream: 132

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:50pm

box2d is available here if you need it for your system http://www.midnightfragfest.com/wp-content/plugins/download-monitor/download.php?id=27

@schnerble that opcode means your system is incapable of creating an OpenGL 3.3 context, I should have mentioned that, my engine does require OpenGL3.3 or higher support (GeForce 9000 series or up, with offcial nvidia drivers, or equivilant radeon card)

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I'd love to try it but I don't have a way to play Linux games at the moment.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:16am

Linux? Seriously?

schnerble says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Raptor: ah, of course. I have a dual-GPU laptop (Intel HD Graphics OpenGL 3.0-ish + GeForce 540M OpenGL 4.x) and need to use a special command to run it on the GeForce as opposed to the Intel card. Guess I should've thought to try that. Pity; I've been trying to run many of the Linux games as I spend most of my time on that OS :) Unfortunately I probably won't get to touch that machine before the deadline now.

angrygeometry says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:04pm

no linux, sorry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]