December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Centipede 2013

by robashton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Remember Centipede from the Spectrum? Well this is that, only you're the Centipede... and you're the one being shot at.

Arrow keys on the computer
Swipe gestures on mobile devices (tested on iPad and iPhone)

The faster you pick up flowers, the more rocks you'll have for cover - think about it ;)


NOTE: If you're using IE/Firefox apparently ImpactJS is a bit weird over its audio on those platforms so I've disabled audio on them. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#167Fun3.27
#276Overall3.15
#398Mood2.71
#460Innovation2.65
#501Graphics2.59
#510Humor2.09
#521Theme2.85
#542Audio1.65

Comments

Adok says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Quite fun and not too hard! Well done!

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31am

Simple, fun, effective - good game! Nice to play the game from a different angle this time around.

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32am

Also, as a fellow Impactjs owner, make sure to bake your game before you ship it, especially for the source.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Oh yeah, I forgot to run the bake stuff - this is my first ImpactJS game, I bought it a few weeks ago specially for this.

Alink says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Classic are always effective, and the twist is cool. Maybe add more rocks for obstacles and cover?

Catmoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Loads of fun, I was hoping people would switch round games like this for the theme :)

Also thought I'd say I couldn't get it to run in IE9 :)

gwozdziu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

893 for first time. I really like it.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Catmoo - sadface! I hoped by using an off the shelf engine I'd be able to mitigate such issues, I'm going to guess it's due to the sound support in IE9 as I had to explicitly disable it on mobile devices for the same reason.

I'm glad you apparently pulled out another browser to give it a real go :)

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Alink, I should have probably given a note of that, the faster you pick up the flowers the more cover you'll get as you will crap out rocks when you're hit and when you pick up a flower (about 33% of the time)

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

the loading bar doesn't reach the end. game doesn't start. I will not interfer in the vote (blank vote)

foksa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:02pm

This should be game mode in original centipede :)

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

har_g :: Which browser and OS? Most likely it's because of the audio which is really naff in IE and on mobile browsers

schnerble says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Cool :) Works quite well, like a combination of snake plus space invader bullet dodging. One minor bug: I couldn't get to one of the flowers at one point because it spawned between two close-together rocks.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Ah, I decided that was a "feature" because you can get the rocks destroyed by the defender :P

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:24pm

763 points. Enjoyed it a lot! Haven't played centipede before but the reversal of it is appearently a snake game with some spaceship shooting at you. It was addictive and the difficulty was well-adjusted. Was there sound used in the game? Cause I've heard it in the beginning and it stopped after that.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:24pm

It's worthy noting Centiped is originally an arcade game :) And old favourite of mine.

Pretty cool concept, fun to play for a while :)

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:31pm

arhpositive - there was sound but the world of HTML5 audio is a murky one and apparently even using an engine isn't enough to mitigate that :(

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

(Firefox and win7)

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

FYI, doesn't load in Firefox or IE.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Okay, well I've no way of testing in IE but I'll have a look at Firefox

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Couldn't load for some reason, got stuck at 75 %.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Simple and fun! Could've been made 20 years ago, just not in javascript.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Right folk, append ?disablesounds=true to the end of the URL and it will work in Firefox/IE (ImpactJS is having issues apparently)

L says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Thank goodness you chose an arcade game with an actually interesting villain. (Sorry Donkey Kong.)

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18pm

It loads fine now and i'm glad you made me try again! Easily gets into my top 3 of LD25! Keep it up!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Thanks! I'm glad I chased after you now then :-)

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Really fun game and well done.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

This was amazingly fun. It only fired one SFX and then was silent for the rest of the play (Chrome). Always nice to play a complete game during the compo.

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Lots of fun.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Dark acre jack, yeah - I'm really not happy that impactjs hasn't seemed to sort the browser audio out as well as I have in the past when doing it manually - lesson learned :(

Beerman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

That was fun, really nice job. Shame about the sound problems but yeah, that's html5 for you.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Nice and simple, I like it.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32pm

Its quite addictive, well done I like it :)

My game has leveling up too it really adds alot to the game, that was a nice touch.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06am

I started the game thinking how i can win if i'll aways lost the tail, but the main objective in not "grow up" as the common centipede game. Very good mechanics.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45am

A very well implemented idea. :) It was a little too easy in my opinion, but still enjoyable.

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

Good job my friend :D

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33am

Fun.
Would be great if it was 2 player, with one playing hero, one playing villain.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:37am

Haha yes - I thought the same thing, perhaps I'll set that up once this is all over as it shouldn't be too hard

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

Really Fun, and challenging.

TDRGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34am

+1 for being the first HTML5/JS entry I've seen besides our own. Runs fine! (Except for the audio issue.. yep, I did it manually.. there's a trick to it.. and you need OGG for Firefox and MP3 for everything else, unless you use uncompressed WAVs. But it's manageable :)

svenardo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:47am

Good, responsive gameplay! Plays a bit more like snakes than reverse centipede though, but good fun nevertheless.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03am

TDR - impact is meant to do that selection or you, it has both ogg and mp3 available :(

When I did it manually, it worked fine - I guess impact is a bit buggy - will be reporting on the forums!!

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Great gameplay! Graphics are nice too. My high score was a (pathetic?) 518. Overall, a very solid entry!

====

I did experience some sound problems in Chromium in Linux (audio just stopped altogether eventually).

I've experienced this before with HTML5 audio. Here's my advice: with ImpactJS include MP3, OGG, and M4A files for all your sounds and use the SoundFile.* syntax to load them. Also make sure to enable M4A support with ig.Sound.use (check the docs); I found this is required for the newer versions of Safari.

Lastly, if your audio files are very short (< 100ms or so) try "padding" them with 100-200ms of silence at the end. This will not increase the filesize by much at all. I've solved almost all of my sound problems cross-browser by following those steps.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23pm

Hi Namuol - thanks for the pointers, I'm using the .* syntax and that's why Firefox falls over (apparently). I'm only using MP3 and OGG though, perhaps I should have tried M4A as well as that would have helped with my Safari issues.

The audio files were indeed very short, I haven't heard that padding advice before so I'll give it a go next time - thanks.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24pm

(The way I fixed my audio issues last time was to Base64 encode all the data and keep them as Data URIs, that means that they don't need reloading all the time and I think that probably mitigates the issue you're talking about with regards to small audio sizes too)

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

(And nobody has ever accused me of having nice graphics before, *sniff* I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW)

Digiraze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Nice and simple, I probably got the lowest score of 386.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Nice job, love centipede! Solid controls :)

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57pm

@robashton -- the Base64 encoding trick is very clever. You could "bundle" sounds in a single .js that way. This never occurred to me. The same goes for images. *mind blown*

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Nice and solid. Cheers!

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Namuol - take a look at GitHub.com/robashton/swallow :)

Stryphe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51am

Fun game, Nicely done!

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:52am

Simple and enjoyable. I thought you did a very good job on the difficulty scaling. I went from "This is too easy" to "oh shit oh shit" in an effectively short amount of time.

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:43am

It is interesting to see how different classics work reversed. This one works pretty well.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Very cool idea and well executed. Well done.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Timeless classics + some original features + good implementation = awesome game.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:14pm

I like how it's Centipede, but you're the Centipede... Well played!

What framework did you use (ImpactJS?)

robashton says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:31pm

ImpactJS :)

skiddings says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Great work!

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:49pm

Works quite well on an iPad. Hard but fun.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:05pm

The fun comes from it's simplicity. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]