Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Acidman - Stavu - Jam Entry

The Game "Acidman" is about a factory worker, who's been a victim of a chemical explosion. As he wakes up near a radioactive barrel, he notices that everything he touches becomes consumed by acid.

This game was supposed to be about how you become a villain, but it is not finished, so you will have to wait for future versions :)

Game Design - Danny Marcowitz and Stav Goldstein
Programming - Danny Marcowitz
Art - Stav Goldstein
Music and Sound - Assaf Halevi

View Stavu's journal. | View all entries by Stavu

Ratings

Coolness73%
#20Fun(Jam)3.67
#27Graphics(Jam)4.27
#39Innovation(Jam)3.57
#41Overall(Jam)3.67
#74Mood(Jam)3.33
#75Audio(Jam)3.36
#247Humor(Jam)2.03
#322Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36am

Nice Game but not so much to the theme

McThreepwood says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38am

Beautiful game! The puzzles are challenging and are very well structured - there is a clear progression in the difficulty and complexity of the levels.

I love the art style as well. It's colorful and cartoony but at the same time there's something foreboding about it.

The music is a great complement to the graphics - it doesn't take over the senses, but provides the final touch of atmosphere.

Great work.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Whoa! Cool graphic and gameplay =)

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Great, great game. The main character is not a villain but a poor guy, but the game is just great : )

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22pm

great game, didnt feel the theme though

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Doesn't fit the theme but that doesn't matter much to me. I love this game. The premise is fantastic and I love the graphics. The backgrounds are beautiful.

Unfortunately the game seems to run extremely slow for me and the lack of audio, beyond the acid, is a bit of a let down.

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Beautiful art and nice gameplay. A bit too easy apart from the last level, and lacking of an ending.

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I agree with WiseGAMER... this game is really good but doesn't fit the theme yet.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

like it :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:32am

Brilliant concept, and the effect of the acid burning things was very nice. The last puzzle was a lot of fun to figure out.

Stavu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39am

Thank you for your comments :) This game is about the rising of a villain, but without an ending it is pretty unclear. We hope to keep working on it in the future :)

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Nice puzzle game!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Loved the way the acid mechanic worked, thought the puzzle/level design was great and the degree of polish is just completely admirable. If i was to have one negative its that i was quite frustrated with the slightly to slow speed in which the character falls. I felt that it made gameplay less satisfying and it was at times annoying, for example, when i wanted to jump off a falling platform, but the platform was moving faster than the player and my character was left falling above with nothing to jump off. Still a brilliantly made game.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:31pm

I really like the way the platforms decay. Would be nice to have a death animation as well.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:08am

Nice game. I really like the idea behind each level. Given the simplicity of the main game mechanic, that's probably the most important point to keep it interesting (just my opinion). I can only speak for myself, but I was actually disapointed that the game was ending so soon. Would have played much longer otherwise :) Well done

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:09am

That was really fun, you should make a full game of it.

My only major irk was that the fall physics were really clumsy, making it pretty much impossible to jump off a falling object. You should really move at the same velocity as what you're falling on.

But other than that, really nice.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Great twist to a platformer! Jumping was hard on the falling platforms though.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Everyone's mentioned about the theme already, but this is a great little game, very novel idea as well. Great polish and presentation as well.

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Fun little game, to bad the villain side aren't here, plateforming is quite tricky sometime.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Very consistent game. The graphic style is wonderful unique and the music fits very well. The character movement or jump is little bit to slow from my opinion and the hitboxes a bit too sensitiv. I can't get to the through level 3 :/.
All in all very beautiful game!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:22pm

The theme just didn't come together. That said, however, this game has TONS of potential. I love the mood and the levels. The idea is great -- the art and the sound is just icing on the cake. Even though you didn't get the theme, great work, and I hope to see more.

dek says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:48am

Wow, the mechanics are really well done, beautiful entry. Nice art, nice polishing, and the last level took quite a bit time. nice one.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:02am

Really nice gameplay. Jumping could have been a bit less sensitive. I really liked the melting effect, it's a unique twist on the generic timed falling platform, and platforms falling on one another gave it that extra dimension. nice one

odrega says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:03am

Awesome Graphics, but a shame there were no more levels

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:21am

Wow! A very polished game. The atmosphere is done very well, and the art + minimal sound adds to the mood. I especially like the level design; the difficulty is paced well!

Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:48am

Great stuff -- love the mechanic, levels were relatively well developed with it as well -- e.g. sufficient challenge in a short space of time.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very cool! Great graphics - very polished game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]