December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BFG TD

by bms - Jam Entry

BFG TD - Big Faul(yeah..) Goats Tower Defense

This game is a turn and team based online multiplayer tower defense game. And yes we are insane people to even try to do this in 72 hours :)
Most of the game is like ordinary TD's, but teams defend AND attack each other on each turn.
When your team is defending, you modify your attacking wave of faul goats.
When your team is attacking, you modify your defense towers.

The ultimate goal of the game is to destroy your opponents base.

--NOTES--
* Non-Upgraded creeps(goats) are quite slow so don't spawn too many if you don't have the money to upgrade them. Or the round will be really long.
* When you first login you need to wait for the current round to end before you see any action.

--CREDITS--
server: tmtowtdi
client & art: bms

PS: There has to be at least 2 players online for the game to start.
PPS: The server crashes every now and then :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#223Innovation(Jam)2.60
#297Fun(Jam)2.07
#304Overall(Jam)2.27
#308Graphics(Jam)2.00
#310Theme(Jam)2.00
#948Coolness32%

Comments

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

Hmmmm for some reason I couldn't get past the login screen :( Looks good from the screenshots!

bms says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

we are having some issues with the server but should be ok now

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12am

Wow this is a tiny little game.

celsyum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:16am

i just logged in. No other player :(

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

The game is really slow. I spend much more time waiting for the monster to reach the opposite base. It's ruining the game . However it's look fun.
Also the font size is realy small.

kato9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Well the concept of a two player competitive tower defense game is really cool - but this game is unbearably slow.

Zaszx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Awesome game, only problem is that it just goes on forever, it is too hard for a team to win. You guys deserve a medal for making this in 72 hours.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Well I was a bit confused. I think I had an opponent but he made no move. The critters wave moved way too slow and I didn't end the game

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:08pm

The texts are too small to read it. The other thigs are ok. Good work.

joekinley says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Mh this was really hard to test. The text was tiny, so was the whole graphics. I just clicked around and waited forever for something to happen. Nothing happened. Maybe you could post some gameplay video?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]