December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Educational Tractor Kingdom

by Darkfrost - Jam Entry

In early 2013, an average redneck farmer downloaded an EBook called "Programming Tractor Artificial Intelligence for Dummies". However, due to a single typo in coping out the sample code, he accidently created a murderous, self improving AI.


Built in C# and SFML, so requires windows unless you're familiar with setting up Mono :)

Created by:
- Jacob Keane (Programming)
- Holly Grant (Programming)
- Gary Nield (Programming)
- Sophie Morris (Art)
- William Ahmadi (Art)
- David Biggs (Programming)

Music by http://www.nosoapradio.us/


Controls:
WASD / Arrow keys - Move
123 / Numpad 123 - Select Weapon
Mouse - Aim
LMB - Use weapon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#75Humor(Jam)3.16
#81Graphics(Jam)3.76
#84Fun(Jam)3.19
#99Audio(Jam)3.21
#121Overall(Jam)3.21
#132Innovation(Jam)3.04
#154Theme(Jam)3.34
#174Mood(Jam)2.78

Comments

Devenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:28am

Very bloody, unnervingly satisfying. A shame that the evolution thing fell by the wayside after the start, but still good fun throughout :)

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Those chickens don't stand a chance with the beam! :D

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:38am

That was awesome, and oddly satisfying.
Unfortunately the game froze when I got to the second level running it in Wine.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:09am

+1 for the tractor beam, the second level seemed like a big jump in difficulty.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:24am

Nice! I died pretty early on, and couldn't find a way to recover health (was there one?), but great idea, I enjoyed playing.

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:46am

We had a health pick up to start with but think it got lost in the confusion XD We had a few problems right at the end when we planned to balance thus the second level came out like it did.. we're hoping to polish it and make a balanced version at some point!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:42pm

Small tip on the second level - Do not touch the cherry trucks! Avoid them all costs

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Really really fun to play. The turning was a bit awkward, but the graphics style and the bloody nature of the game made up for it ;)

Kuulog says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Killing farmyard animals is actually very fun! Great game!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Background tune actually made the game feel quite relaxing, but 2nd level was a huge jump in difficulty, and tracktor physics were rough. But overral, the game was fun, art looks great, and tracktor beam is forever in my heart :)

dek says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Looking really cute :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Nice work. Took me a while to work out how to use the laser and play level 2 without dying immediately but it was great fun. Looked and sounded great too.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:59pm

hahah, funny!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Don't have windows, wish I did so I could play this. Looks awesome, and from the comments, is awesome. Good luck!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Moving doesn't feel good because of the collision boxes (they are too big). Very funny idea anyway. I hope I didn't miss it, but is there an explanation for the icons? Especially the last one I didn't get.

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Health fuel mattercollected energy, then the other blacked out pictures where equipable wepons on the nums.

Yeh we never did get round to fixing the collisions XD

Cyboot says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:56am

that was bloody funny.
Ok that sounds stupid, but great game.
Nice graphics and sound.

good job!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:19pm

The icons from left to right were:
Health (%)
Fuel (%)
Matter collected (% to the next upgrade)
Energy (%, this is needed for certain weapons)

Then there are various icons showing you the state of your weapons, depending on which you have unlocked

arhpositive says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Nice little game. :) Lost interest after a few minutes, but still a good game in the jam category.

bentog says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:24pm

I like the game, it's fun and relaxing, half a second after I got to level 2 I died :( So, I had no patience to finish level one again. Besides that, well done!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Pretty fun, but I couldn't figure out how to attack in the second level and didn't want to grind my way through the first again after I died. Also, "tractor beam". Love it.

mokujin says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Sheeps are too big, like elephants XD Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]