December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Villain

by CNIAngel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a text adventure story. I'm making it in Twine. You're a villain in a fairyland world. Make a difference in that world by being terrible.

Warning: This is pretty much not for kids at all. I hold no responsibly to how you feel after playing this Twine game. Seriously.

EDIT/UPDATE: I am currently working on a longer, more detailed, and hopefully better version of "You Villain." Stay tune if you wanna feel like a villain ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#69Theme3.92
#222Humor2.96
#374Mood2.76
#461Fun2.64
#652Overall2.42
#724Innovation1.91

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 15, 2012 @ 5:00pm

The DL link goes to the Dropbox homepage, bud. :P

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 15, 2012 @ 5:18pm

I know xP I don't have a build up yet. Working out a couple things.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

what a strange game !

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

Why thank you :)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

great narrative, love the intro instalose choice hah

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

I could think of worse things than being stuck with a "chick".

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20am

I like it. Would love to see it fleshed out more.

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

charming

AaronYip says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57am

Woo! Everybody's happy. :D Charming game, agreed.

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24pm

I'm glad that everyone is enjoying it so far :) I wish I had made it longer though.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Short, filled with grammatical errors, not much detail to set it apart. Would've liked to see more quality out of a text-based 48 hour game.

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Thanks for the criticism :) I should point out that I did this in an hour, not 48 of them. It would've been a lot better.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

For the time he put into it I think it's pretty funny, wish he would have been able to finish his other game though. CNI you should do one of these weekly, with different themes each week and post them on twitter

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:49am

You could follow interesting techy/social stories throughout the week and then make text-based comedy adventures based on them. Like you could have made a text adventure on the shooting.
On second thought maybe this isn't a good idea.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:45am

loren took the words right out of my mouth, I had to press that first choice. Epic end.

The writing was fun, but it was a bit short (or it feels that way because there are so many branches). Good work! Hope you expand upon it :D

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:46am

Okay, you obviously nailed the theme. (Probably with real nails. Driven into the remains of a princess.) Apart from that, it's a bit short and well - every second move ends the game. When nearly every move is an ending, choice seems to be a bit arbitrary. The humor was nice though.

I think I would've enjoyed the game more if it featured a longer coherent story line. But then again, I just read the comments and found out that you made it in only 1 hour, and for that it's pretty good I guess!

raubana says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54am

The story starts. "You're the villain"........FIVE STARS, TRIPLE PLATINUM, 4 STARS, A+

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:52am

Thanks everyone! :D I'm about to update the summary in a second, but I am currently on a longer and more detailed version of "You Villain" :) In a perfect world it should be done before the year ends.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:42am

I agree that it's a bit short. Also, I haven't tried every variations, but I almost always won. It should have more ways to fail.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]