Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From Prison Planet - gameXcore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

STORY

In the year 2130, the Galactic Police began transporting all prisoners to the
first planet, designed as a prison with no way out.

Even Prison Planet 1 was not enough to contain the galaxy's most cunning villain.

After starting a riot, you have slipped aboard Prison Transporter 1 after a fresh
delivery of in-mates, now you must get as far away from PP! as you can, or die trying!

Controls:

W - Move up
S - Move down
A - Speed up
D - Slow down

SPACE - Activate shield

Mouse - Aim
Left - Fire guns
Right - Fire missile.

Gameplay:

- Avoid Asteroids, use missiles to destroy them
- Destroy enemy spacecraft using your guns.
- Steal cargo dropped by destroyed enemy spacecraft:
- [S] Shields - Recharges your shields.
- [M] Missiles - Recharges your missile launchers.
- [H] Hull Repair - Repairs damage to your hull.
- [B] Bomb - AVOID, this cargo is boobytrapped.

Gameplay Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVgqcm7ygKo&feature=youtu.be

View gameXcore's journal. | View all entries by gameXcore

Ratings

Coolness100%
#114Graphics3.72
#122Audio3.19
#231Mood3.04
#237Overall3.23
#304Fun2.96
#524Humor2.07
#603Innovation2.35
#621Theme2.53

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:02am

It looks awesome! To bad I'm on a mac, is a port on the way?

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:02am

Unfortunately when I try to run this game, either through setup or the application it crashes and says that it has stopped working. No error messages I'm afraid.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05am

Damn starspell, thats a bit rubs one of the problems with 48 hours I guess is a lack of being able to test on a bunch of platforms and "it works on my PC" runs rampant. I'll double check a bunch of things and see if I can root out the issue, my apologies.

Sorry as well patrick, XNA - Windows only, or at least I wouldn't have the foggyest on how to port to mac, thanks for the comment though.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08am

Found a spinning goat and was like "What the hell!?!" and died at 415.77 LY...

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11am

415.77 isn't too bad, my best during dev was 650, the goat means your doing well :p

Starspell, I did a local test, I uninstalled the XNA redistributable from my PC and got the same issue, I then downloaded and ran the installer and it worked fine, installing this dependancy is supposed to be taken care of by the clickonce portion of the installer, I guess that failed.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

The art style is pretty novel to me, interestingly an all white background for the universe still pretty fits. (to me) :P I only wish it doesn't need installation. But I guess if you used XNA to publish it's pretty hard to do that?

vidarn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55am

I love the amount of polish you've managed to put into this.
It feels like a really solid game and I had fun playing it.
Great job!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31pm

arch, I could provide the .exe and resources etc however it would require that the user has the xna dependencies installed which they likely will not have, so its bit of a toss up - I don't like installers either!

I'm currently looking into SilverSprite to see if porting it to silverlight is a quick job, if so I'll try do that and get it hosted online.

Thanks Vidarn.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:38pm

I just added a new download:

Windows (No Install - Requires .net 4 & XNA)

For anyone that already has the required dependancy's installed or wants to install them themselves!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

I ran the installer and got the various dependencies, couldn't run the game, then tried standalone version as I now have the dependencies but that won't work either :(

No error, no nothing :(

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Overall really nice game. My only problem is with the background - despite I like the effect of fading space station and spinning galaxies it doesn't give any feedback about your ship speed/direction. As a result my first 4 games ended up after 10s by continously hitting the top/bottom asteroids

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

The theme is more of a backdrop here, but the game itself is pretty solid.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:10pm

This looks nice. The black-white thing works for me.
A lot of stuff going on and it also looks expandable (I mean could be expanded)
The game is pretty hard (for me) though, al lot of different buttons to push (hmm, just like my own game:)

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Looks great!
The only thing is maybe that the game is kind a hard at the beggining, having to recharge the guns etc.

The gun shots are small and barely visible sometimes :/

Other than that it's really polished!

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Audio/music is kinda strange! But liked the stylized graphics.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Nice controls, really polished! Great mood too. As someone above me said, it starts too hard. You should introduce the player to your game one bit at a time.

Could you give my game one more try? It comes with the DLLs now! Please? :D

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

I did think that starting with a wall of asteroids was maybe bad, however I also wanted to start with a bang, so that there was instantly something to do.

Of course I will,added to my play queue now.

Thanks for all the comments!

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Very nice! Definately agree with having bigger bullets but other than that I enjoyed it very much :)

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Good game - i enjoyed. Used the non-installer version and worked fine (on Win 8) Nice graphical style.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Thanks, originally the bullets were all going to black, to keep colors almost exclusively for explosions... that was a BAD idea!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

"Found a spinning goat and was like "What the hell!?!" and died at 415.77 LY..."
Same here. In fact, I went totally distracted, till I realised it was just for fun :D

Really loved the graphics, this is a nice touch. The only little thing that was quite annoying (for me), was the beginning. I didn't understand what happenned, with this planet going farther from my ship. Something went weird with the perspective/and or the parralax, I didn't get I was already playing the ship and could move it.

But I just may be dumb.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Great visual style, Scott! Could use some vertical parallax on the background so you know when you're about to hit the top or bottom of the play area, and maybe a little less inertia on the ship. I have yet to catch a single power up :) Very polished.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

Beautifully styled game. Really hard to control on a tablet computer without a proper mouse, but I will not hold that against you at all. I will need to get an external mouse and try it again later. Good show!

Saisaith says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25am

This was pretty fun!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31am

Solid work :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18pm

I made it to about 385 by just going as fast as possible, shooting missiles occasionally. I have no idea how you made something this complex in 48 hours! I wish the control scheme was a little simpler, it's hard to maneuver on a laptop.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Was you using the trackpad or a mouse pacifist? I actually did the whole thing on a laptop on my sofa! 48 hours at the end felt like quite a lot, I just didn't worry about pretty code or any nonsense like that, each feature was put in one at a time, whichever way it went in fastest... that and my day job usually involves the same frantic pace of programming!

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Good work! Just a little downside: it's hard to distinguish the different elements, especially the power ups. I discovered their existence only on my 2nd or 3rd run!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Very pretty.

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56pm

707, augh! I find it best to save the missiles for large clumps of enemies. It increases your chance for cargo drops when you can take 3 of them out with a single missile.

Great game, and hard to believe it was done in 48 hours! You must not be new to it.

With the dependencies installed, the game crashed immediately when I opened it in "Sandbox mode" (avast is very nervous about EXE files, even ones that I've created myself). Opening it normally, it runs fine, so anyone WITH the dependencies getting it to crash, check file/folder/user permissions is my best guess.

This game is awesome.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

I love the art on this game, the background and the ships look fantastic, the only thing that annoyed was the ship movement, other than that it's a very solid game, especially for one that is made in 48 hours. Gratz man

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

made it a lot farther when I realized I had missiles

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Thanks all.

@awppy, this is my first LD, and in fact first game jam/comp, I've been making games for a while now though.

@lorancou, thanks and fair point, I think I weant a little overboard on the whole "Black and white" and should have used that more to my advantage by using colour to make game-play elements really jump out.

@moomoo112, yup, those missiles will help :p knowing that the best bet is to make something intuitive, or teach the player as they play I wanted to add some in-game hints to teach the game-play as you went along, the main reason I didn't, rather embarrassingly, is I couldn't work out how best to put them on the screen without them being detracting or distracting.

markengley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Good work. You managed to get an insane amount done here. The graphics look great, and the music is nice, and appropriately spacey.

Thought the difficulty was pretty reasonable once I rationed my missiles a bit.

Also you get bonus kudos for the flying goat.

DTG says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28am

I love the aesthetic, clean and a great feel.
Gameplay was fun whilst being nice and challenging.
I think I would have made the top and bottom just push the player back, and also having things that look like powerups hurt you is a bit harsh.
Had fun though.

killmonday says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Loved the art, the sound, the spacy atmosphere and the pewpew factor. Great job!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Liked it.

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:31pm

I loved the story set up, actually. It made me really want the game to be set on the planet! But I'm not here to talk about the game you didn't make, so without further ado: The gameplay felt a little slow, while the asteroid (when moving vertically) always seemed to travel too fast. It's a fairly solid game. The music and sounds were nice, etc. Probably the biggest thing for me though, is the complicated controls. It would have been much nicer to have those repair keys around WASD instead of all over the keyboard. A nice entry, nonetheless.

(Also, thanks for the constructive feedback you gave us on our game. It helps!)

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:46pm

@maple did you put the right comment to the right game here? First bit makes sense, but unless there is a secret repair mechanic I forgot I added I;m confused :p

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:37am

Nice graphic. But I think the bullet and the powerups can be more standout from the background.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Really nice, lacks a tiny bit of progression and narrative. :)

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Nice game!
It's really polished! Also, nice graphics!

ilo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:42am

Really nice presentation, but I think more colour would help the player to breakdown the visual elements more easily.

A more defined difficulty curve would also help, but the gameplay was solid.

JaJ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:58pm

This has a very interesting style. I would have gotten a better sense of speed if the background had multiple layers. As it is now I didn't even notice A and D did anything for the first minute. Other than that this is very polished and plays well.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:38pm

nice!

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:34pm

The bright graphics lessen the space feeling and for my taste a bit too easy, but the overall game experience is really good. Nice work.

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Once I figured out how the game works, it was quite funny - until my shields ran out. Really good game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]