Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Outcast (DEMO)

by Twisted Devotion - Jam Entry

Game Description:

In this game you're a girl who is awoken by a spirit claiming to be her deceased father. In order to be one with him she must gather the five essences and use them in a sacred ritual...

How to play:
Arrow keys to move, Z key for actions

As per request here are the steps to complete the game:

1. Exit the house.
2. Go the the graveyard located to the north.
3. Approach the gravestone.
4.Exit the house.
5.Go to the house to the south east end.
6.Approach the sleeping man.
7.Collect all 5 essence fragments in the maze.

Commentary:

For our jam entry we decided to take the "villain" role in a more demented direction than what we deemed cliche. The game was originally supposed to be about 5 missions long but given our time slot and the amount of work we put into the look and feel of the game, we decided to create one full level and looped it back around. Many of the scenes and features are missing from the game or had to be cut due to time constraints.



Credits:
Kaylin Norman [Design, Music, and Programming]
Ben Millar [Art, Music, Testing]

**KNOWN BUGS**
--On one of the dialog scenes the player appears for some reason
--sometimes on the mind scene the player may appear in walls or appear to walk through walls[fixed]

--The web version seems to function a lot differently than

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Mood(Jam)3.31
#196Audio(Jam)2.54
#223Graphics(Jam)2.81
#253Theme(Jam)2.73
#282Overall(Jam)2.44
#303Innovation(Jam)2.00
#317Fun(Jam)1.81
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:33am

Love the atmosphere! The grungy visuals and the music fit well together. Nice touch with the dirty-overlay. I wonder if you could make it scroll with you.

That being said, the intro is HORRIBLE. That was 3 minutes of me hammering the buttons to get to the actual game.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Man.... I really wanted to make progress in this game! I'm intrigued, the music and graphics work well together, the writing is good... but every time I touch the right edge of the screen, my character disappears and the game is frozen! :( (repro steps: get the knife, then walk to the right edge of the base) If you ever post a walkthrough, I'd happily play it again.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

Hey, Sorry for the inconvenience, I fixed the bug (somewhat) and I added a skip button.

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:30am

I've tried the game and tried it again but I can't get past the "Find the book" part. Everytime I got to the graveyard and use tombstone I get teleported at start or I get stuck if I leave the screen.

Make the girl walk faster maybe? Visual, music, story seems great so far and I would love to play more if you could tell us what to do in steps :)

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:34am

The character kept going off screen and I could not figure out what to do. As for innovation, not sure there is anything special about it. Since I could not figure it out, it was not very fun or humorous and I cannot accurately judge the theme. The graphics were faded and it was hard to see

7Soul says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:20am

When I go to the cemetery I get some dialogue, and then i'm back at the initial room, and this keeps happening... I also keep getting the same dialogue many times, that end with "Mission dialogue" or something. And why here the character is so much bigger then on the screenshots?
The mood is nice, but it seems like there are just too many bugs

Arakade says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:58am

Well, I loved the concept, aesthetic, music, mood, etc. However, the game gave me some bugs. Here's a report in case useful...

When I started the game, the intro text starts repeating after having read all the intro text. Then, when I got to the gravestone and press Z it says "Computer Dialog" then blanks the screen and does the knife dialog (which I'd have thought was later since I hadn't found the book yet). Went to the south east but, when I pressed z on any doors, it started the intro text again.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:37pm

First off I like the dialog and mood of the game, that you accomplished phenomenally. Now, I played the game and encountered several bugs, such as being able to walk off the map, getting stuck in buildings, etc. And I like the direction the game was going just wish you had more time to put in what you wanted.

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:40am

As others said, the atmosphere is nice, although I wish there was an ambiant music as well.

I followed the directions in the description, but couldn't enter any house! Too bad, I really wanted to see the ending :(

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Great job with the atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]