About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 0 hours, 0 minutes, 55 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 0 hours, 12 minutes, 55 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 1 hour, 0 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bret - drizzlybear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Click to shoot!

    ---
    Update: Added Win/Mac and android ports! iOS coming soon! :)

    View drizzlybear's journal. | View all entries by drizzlybear

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #147Graphics3.58
    #181Humor3.09
    #182Fun3.23
    #219Overall3.26
    #224Mood3.06
    #295Audio2.62
    #403Theme3.13
    #673Innovation2.18

    Comments

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36am

    The graphics are very well done! :)

    Razion says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

    For some reason, clicking play on your website doesn't actually take me anywhere. Broken link?

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

    @Razion -- Should switch the image to be the game (which in this case happens to be the same image) Click again to play the first level. :)

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

    @Meep - Thanks!

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49am

    I bagged myself 169 pounds of ... er, Poon? What's the plural for them; Poons?

    The sound feedback was very good! It had a lot of black comedy to it and simple mechanics that kept me going.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51am

    Haha, adorable/twisted.

    My friend suggested I change the humans in my game to puppies and see who still plays the game to find out who the "real monsters" of the world are. Looks like you've done something like that, here. Since I gleefully enjoyed your game, I must be a monster. ;)

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53am

    Awesome!

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53am

    Too cute to live! I really liked the easing movements - they made me pay a lot more attention to my shots!

    madpew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

    The Play-link isn't working in IE9 but does in Chrome.
    Game is well done, some music would have been nice.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    @madpew Thanks for the info! Looks like my activate-script is not working in ie9 (must be what @razion was seeing)

    Music was on the list, but did not make it into the game. :)

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Thanks for all your sweet comments! :)

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    I win! :)
    Nice little game, graphics are cool and good rhythm.

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Very fun game! Only complaint is that the bullets seemed to move too slowly.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    @madpew @Razion -- Looks like you have to click play a few times in IE.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    Good stuff! Might do well with a leaderboard for people to compare, uh, poon ranks? >.<

    kewry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Nice one

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    I feel guilty for murdering all the poon :-). Good job!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Those stupid poons. They walked totally unpredictable so it was so hard to kill them.
    I loved the graphics. It was a fun play. Really fun play. Good catch on the theme, also the mood was great.

    In total you did a really nice game there. Good job finishing. I had fun. Stupid poons being stupid...

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    What exactly is a poon?

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Ermm..the use of the word 'poon' made me very uncomfortable here. Not sure if this was supposed to be a metaphor or...? Uh, anyway nice game - reminded me of the hunting bits in the old school Oregon Trail games.

    Biped says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    I hate poon.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Thanks @kato9!

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Simple, but fun! The acceleration and deceleration made it a bit unpredictable though.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:49am

    Good graphics especially the scenery. Easy playing on my phone. I had to force-quit the app though. I played on a galaxy note.
    But I certainly had fun.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Nice animations and gameplay.
    Poons are so cute that one should really be a villain to shout them all.

    bentog says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    I Lol'd, this looks like my entry, but 2D. Good job!

    saguaro says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:19pm

    Awww I kilt them D: I expected there would be some reckoning in the cave, like a giant carnivorous one, but alas. No.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:06am

    @saguaro yeah-- there was a plan at one point to have a boss in the cave, but it didn't make it in. :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]