December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Flamenco, tapas & siesta

by Mesene - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome

"Flamenco, Tapas & Siesta" has been developed in AS3, with flixel libraries and Photonstrom.

Can be played in the browser and the average length of a game is 4 minutes (survival)

"Flamenco, Tapas & Siesta" puts you in the role of a political leader who has to silence the complaints of the people and win the favor of powerful groups such as banks and clergy. With your scissors you can censor protest signs and hide the disgrace of the country to the world.

lacks audio and needs some balance... but we have "LA ROJA", paella and sun, who cares? :)

I hope you enjoy the game, in spite of the harsh reality that it represents.

My record is 983 civilians "corrected", please, leave your score and any comments are very grateful.

Revolution!

Edit: I have added a tweaked version wich improves gameplay by editing only spawnTimes, player velocity(movement, animation), bonus ranges... no new content.
Play it if u want to see all other bonusses :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#76Humor3.52
#82Theme3.87
#167Innovation3.30
#174Graphics3.48
#293Mood2.92
#324Overall3.06
#417Fun2.74

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

keep them folks in check ;)

Sos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43am

Occupy Ludum Dare! I thought its about cutting the heads!

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

I wish I could move faster. It seemed hard to curry enough favor with the interest groups to get their special power. I really like the theme/message of the game.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:12am

I loved the concept and the art of this, great work!

Prealpha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Argghh, demasiado realishta.
We need a 'put me in a bitter mood as intended' category.

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:12pm

I like your idea, and the many kinds of sprites!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:46pm

I really, really love your concept!
I always want to make a game just like this!
Well done!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Interesting game idea.

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:52pm

great idea, the gameplay is a bit frustrating, especially because of the low-speed of the game, but still, i liked a lot the idea :D

Mase says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:57pm

I got up to 159, would've been higher but the Manipulacion didn't work for me when I pushed 4, despite a full green bar.
I think the range is too wide on the scissors. I'd like more precision.
Still quite fun though.

epiplon says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:17pm

There is a couple of game developers like you, trying to show the world that somethings is wrong somewhere. Then, the theme fitted perfectly: oppressors are truly evil.
Really liked your game (pretty hard though).

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Hi there :D
I just uploaded a tweaked version wich improves gameplay a lot without adding content, try it if you liked the concept :D

arhpositive says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Hey, a nice game idea and it fits the theme perfectly. Good implementation aswell. A bit tough, but this is expected as it's a survival game. The only problem is the bonuses can only be used once or twice in a game and that number should be higher imo, even if they have to be tweaked to be less effective.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Hard but lovely game. The tutorial was good, but as the people start to running during the tutorial, I started to read in a hectic pace. You should make sure that the player doesn't feel under pressure while reading the tutorial.
Sometimes there is something wrong with the z-indices of your sprites. People in the back are drawn in front of others etc.. Keep working! :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Gracias!!! (I'm a greek game dev, I feel you!)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Nice, I liked the theme.

Bouyer says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Funniest entry I've seen so far! Might be a little easier if you didn't need 100% approval by a group to call in support.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The images of the figures and the instructions engaged me. If you continue to develop this, I was wondering what the consequences of each faction's meter were. Would a background illustration modification tell a story of one faction's approval?

ddionisio says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:06am

I was pretty much cutting all the things.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:42am

It's a filled with meanings game thank you , actually after more people stood against me I didn't care about banks or religious people I just wanted to save my rule so I cut every thing , the game express a lot about my homeland , I am from no less than Middle East

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:13am

Very well done.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I can't say I felt like I was doing anything that affected the global opinion, sure some other stats went up and down but not sure who or what. Movement is very slow and the collision checks are rather odd. It looks like an interesting little thing with a message but it eluded me a bit. I'll try the tweaked version a bit later.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]