December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Most EVIL Breakfast

by refreshcreations - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In The Most EVIL Breakfast. You, Menial 071 Must complete your tyrannical overlords request for The Most EVIL Breakfast by harvesting... things.

There are multiple endings to the game depending on how well you do, and there's even an Android port, although I've only tested that on a Galaxy S3, so, Safety NOT guaranteed there.

Controls are either WASD / Arrow Keys or, For Android Touch and Tilt.

Have Fun!

Some people are having difficulty running the unity weblink for one reason or another. I've posted the same unity file up on kongregate for reference.

Some browsers are funny how they work.

http://www.kongregate.com/games/refreshcreations/the-most-evil-breakfast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#93Humor3.43
#94Theme3.83
#131Graphics3.63
#144Audio3.10
#253Overall3.20
#269Mood2.96
#467Fun2.63
#650Innovation2.24

Comments

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Brutal! But somehow those animals deserved it...nice :)

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51pm

The dialog is great and the graphic style is truly evil!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06pm

What did those kittens ever do to you!

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Yikes, that really is brutal. Poor kitties :( The audio is really well done, and I like the pure red of the world

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I'm not sure I want to play this game. It's so evil looking, it reminds me of the Virtual Boy... :S

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Some Unity games just work for me, others (like this one and at least one other LD25 entry) demand I reinstall the plugin, even after I've reinstalled it. Wondering if it's because I installed v4 for LD25? What version of Unity did you use?

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Love the graphical style.
Not so in love with plodding around slowly.
What does the force bar do?

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Winterblood: Look at the URL. Make sure you remove the "s" in "https://". Otherwise you'll get mixed content, some browsers won't show due to security concerns.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Not bad at all. It definitely got its own style, but I couldn't figure out all controls (force bar?) and it felt rather slow with most time being wasted trying to navigate and find any cats at all.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07am

It's made in Unity 3.56 There's always the other versions if you're having trouble running the browser version however. I'll put a seperate link up to the kongregate hosted one as the web one is hosted on my dropbox account currently.

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

I'm pretty sure the issue is that you're hosting it on dropbox. Every time I've seen the button to install the unity web player, the url has been a dropbox link...

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14am

Rank: Kitten Pizza

Nice game, this gave me a good laugh.

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09am

I really liked the graphics, sound, the humour, everything, but I whish the game was a little faster paced. Maybe the robot could be a tiny little bit faster than the kittens.

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nice simple palette. Charming voice-over.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:14am

Poor kitties :(

But on the other hand, kudos on the Android version! I played it on my Transformer Prime tablet, and it was really neat to see it in 10 inches. The color scheme really works.

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07am

Poor kitties! Funny game!

You need change https to http for the web link to work.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Thanks Codexus, Updated that now :)

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:41pm

The colors are amazing, this is the most evil game I've seen so far in this competition :)

feili says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:01pm

i like kitten breakfast

Arakade says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Awesome! Love the colour scheme - really clever way to expedite art ;-) Agree with the others about robot speed - perhaps a sprint that gets tired after 8 seconds so you need to ounce out on the prey?
Lovely having the Android version. Unity is THE way ;-) (guess what I used though I cheated with 2D ;-) )

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Nice entry.
I'm guessing that the small camera issue when you get near the walls and the Force bar are symptoms of running-out-of-time-itis, but I like the visual style and the audio. Very nice.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:18am

Nice work on teh Virtual-Boy-Color-scheme :)

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:46am

I don't like cats! They're awful gamey. Ha ha! Great job!

voidstar69 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:43pm

This is tough on Android (those cats are fast), but still fun. Great idea.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:36pm

pure evil :D

strong99 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Making such a noise! They're just inviting you to collect them ;) Nice! Liked the graphics too, the red fitted the gore :p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]