December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Subjugated

by Arowx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have bee Subjugated, crammed into a pirate spaceship and now must serve your pirate overlords, hijacking cargo vessels or your oxygen supply will be severed.

Controls
Roll Q-E
Pitch W-S
Yaw A-D
Guns LMB
Thrust RMB
Missiles SPACE

Note the yellow nebular does it look like a goat to you?

Added Flash player thanks to Unity 4 pro LD license.

Going to continue working on this but via the Kongregate version here - http://www.kongregate.com/games/Arowx/subjugated - updates coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1027Coolness24%

Comments

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:04pm

going to play this later because my MacBook does not have right click

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

I kind of like the dog fighting. Though the pace might be sped up a bit. Those exploding cargo containers look quite different from most how explosions are usually styled. Much better than popping fighters.

I had trouble with the controls because 1) the mouse can leave the game window and lose focus when thrusting/shooting and 2) the roll input seems inverted while the yaw sometimes acts a bit weird. Maybe a case of Gimbal lock?

Other than that, it's a neat little game. :)

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Pretty good, but could do with two big things: one is mouse capture (controller support would be good too) and the other is some kind of waypoint/radar system. Had no idea where I was supposed to be going most of the while

jamesca says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

No right click on my macs :-(

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48am

Took me a while to find out where to go

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:24am

Interesting, although it definitely needs a map or something because I couldn't find my way back to base.

The controls were also quite confusing for me, but I guess I haven't played any similar games before.

Arowx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Hint: head for the yellow nebula, and after leaving the dock turn around and check out what your asteroid base looks like.

Thanks You for the feedback everyone, I am going to work on enhancing this game so any and all feedback welcome.

Will add a link to the Enhanced WIP version as soon as I can.

Arowx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:59pm

@jamesa forgot to upload the source, now you can play about with the controls in unity.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:35pm

The non-shaded object and controls didn't work for my brain, also in the web player it doesn't capture the mouse so I can't turn too much because then my mouse is out of the unity view or even the window. WIl try again later.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]